Sheryl's Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This is more a question/suggestion than a review. I got the idea from reading complaints and suggestions in other reviews. How about slicing the potato all the way through and then you can baste on your oil/butter and seasonings. Then skewer the potato slices back together and make a little bowl of aluminum foil to set it in while it bakes. Near finish, additional oil and cheese can be added and it is contained in the foil. Just an idea that I think I will try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seguin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This is a very old recipe from the 50's called "Hasselback Potatoes". The way to get the potatoes to fan is to soak them in ice water for a while, then let drain on paper towels. I always peeled them first, since I don't like the taste of skins. Pretty when lightly dusted with Paprika, and finely chopped parlsey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
this is a great recipe and i've made it for a long time. For some reason it's called Hasselback potatoes...and i use as my cutting guide two chopsticks with the potato lying between... If you have an issue with putting the spices etc between the slices then remember to FAN the potato out after you've made your chopstick guided cuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Rockaway, New York, USA
Living In: Indialantic, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
have made these for years!! another good trick for cutting the potatoes..place the potatoe in a large serving spoon. Then cut down, the spoon will be your guide!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
great idea, but didn't love it. cutting the potatoes wasn't the problem - I struggled to get the seasoning and butter (and, later, the cheese) into the pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Love this recipe! Easy, yummy and I received a chorus of ooohhs and ahhhs when I brought the platter of potatoes to the table. As other reviewers suggest, I used olive oil instead of butter - baked them for 1 1/2 hours. I also used kosher salt - wow, that made a difference! I'm definitely going to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I LOVED these!!! I would eat them every meal if I knew it wouldn't make me fat! I used Italian seasoning. Thanks for the GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.kyler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Amazing! Made them for the whole family and adults and kids alike loved them! I used oil and no butter but still delicious and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleenicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This is now my favorite way to bake potatoes! Even out of the microwave they are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PhiloDot

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Andrews, Texas, USA
Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
We really enjoyed this. Used the suggestions of using a spoon as a cutting guide and it worked very well. Omitted the cheese due to dairy intolerance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States