Sheryl's Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I love this way of baking potatoes....I like to put chopsticks on either side of the long way of the potato and that stops the knife from slicing too far. I also find that first rinsing the sliced potato under cool water gets rid of the starches that make the slices stick together while cooking. I microwave about 4 minutes to soften the potato, then I follow the rest of the recipe. By microwaving, you actually cut down on the baking time in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I use two chop sticks (you know, the ones you get with Chinese take out) on either side of the potato to slice them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dscsf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This is a great recipe. A simple way to cut the potatoes--I purchased 1/4 inch wooden dowls from Hardware Store, place on each side of potato and voila...does not dull knife like metal skewers. I also use dowls or larger sizes for rolling out shortbread and various pastries , etc. Don't forget to soak sliced potatoes in ice water to fan the potatoes after slicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Awesome recipe! I made my own herb blend, of Garlic, coarse salt & pepper, cajun spice, and used parmigana reginana...for last then minutes of cooking! SUPERB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kealasgram

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winchester, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Needed a potato recipe that was a bit different. This was very good. Didn't have butter, so I used olive oil. Nice alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Try serving with plain yogurt for moisture and zing, instead of sourcream. This is helpful and healthy if your spuds got too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Womack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I am glad I halved the recipe. They smelled amazing while baking. However, the end product was hard and tough in some spots while partially uncooked in others. The brand seasoning was not clear, so I used Mrs. Dash as it fit the description. However, I found it "very peppery!!" It was all I could taste. I did use butter with canola oil and reduced fat cheese. I use both in other recipes no problem though. I would consider a smaller potato and don't put them too close to the heat source in the oven. I would also add the seasoning to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I make these potatoes quite often.I use a large spoon to cut through the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Phillips

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I made these for dinner tonight. Excellent!! From another reviewer, I put a slice of raw onion & garlic between the slices, which made them open up and fan out. I also wrapped them in foil for half the time and baked without the foil which crisped them up. I also oiled the outside which also helped crisp them up. I will definitely make these again. There are only two of us, but would like to make for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Instead of butter or oil and adding spices, I used Wishbone or your favorite bottled italian dressing. Very easy and it is so good! You could even add hot sauce for a real departure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States