Sherry's Wild West Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
After reading the reviews and then rereading the recipe, I thought it might be somewhat bland, but this was a really good soup. I used vegetable broth and left out the chicken and cheese, and I used uncooked quinoa instead of cooked rice, so the soup was a little heartier. Plus, I used fresh oregano (and a little extra to pump up the flavor) and about 1/2 tsp sea salt. By itself, the broth was VERY spicy, but the garbanzos and avocado helped mellow out the heat. For me, it didn't need the cheese--the flavor combo actually tasted a bit cheesy on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Didn't have the Monterey Jack, but it was really good with just the avocado!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Very good soup. I omitted the salt because chicken broth has enough salt in it. I added garlic powder and in addition to the white beans, I added a can of black beans to get more protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I love spicy food and this is now officially my absolute favorite soup ever. If it sounds appealing definitely try it! I followed one other reviewers recommendation and put in uncooked rice so that it wasn't too mushy, but then I also had to add about 2 more cups of broth to compensate. Definitely worth making, so delicious and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chester, Virginia, USA
Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This was delicious. If you want to cut the spiciness down cut out the seeds in the chipotle pepper, then add them to individual bowls as desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I've been learning to cook the last couple years. I had the chipotle peppers in adobo sauce and needed to find a way to use it. I found this recipe and made it, not expecting much. This is only the second soup I've ever made. WOW! It is so delicious and spicy. Maybe one of the best soups I've tasted. Just got back from grocery so I can make some more. Oh, I didn't know how to make shredded chicken and I used thighs? (dark meat) and cut it in cubes. Later I found out I should have bought breast meat and shredded that. I'll be making it that way next time. Plain monteray jack was kind of hard to find, usually they have it mixed with Colby; finally found it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I am an Culinary Arts student in High School and this recipe came out to perfection! I loved the spices and the taste of the chicken, so thus i recommend it ! (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George Martinez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
We liked it, but not as much as Slow Cooker Taco Soup. Here's how I embellished it: Added 1/2 of a green pepper and 1/2 an onion (first sautéed in olive oil to soften) Added a can of black beans Added a can of fire roasted diced tomatoes Reduced to one can of green chilis Increased the salt from a pinch to a 1/2 teaspoon Put the rice right in the pot to make easier - reduced amount to 1/2 cup of raw rice, since the recipe called for 1 cup of cooked rice I topped with 2 avocados instead of 1 and just stirred into pot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
I bought a can of chipotle peppers... then needed to find a recipe to use it! With all the exciting ingredients I expected more flavor. The cheese and avocado cubes were fun additions. We added salt at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
Very good recipe. Nice change of pace. We added some crushed up tortilla chips at the table that added a nice crunch. Definately need to have the cheese and avocado with it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States