Sherry's Wild West Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I enjoyed this soup very much however the broth is VERY spicy. If you do not use the avocado, I highly recommend that you cut back on the chipotle peppers. The avocado mellows the broth out nicely but it still has a great deal of kick to it. The only change I made is that I did not cook the rice first because I wanted it more firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I made a big batch for freezing. Like one of the other reviewers, I also substituted quinoa for white rice, added a can of fire roasted tomatoes and left out the chicken and the cheese. The avocado was a nice touch. Next time I might throw in some lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Moraga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
After reading the reviews and then rereading the recipe, I thought it might be somewhat bland, but this was a really good soup. I used vegetable broth and left out the chicken and cheese, and I used uncooked quinoa instead of cooked rice, so the soup was a little heartier. Plus, I used fresh oregano (and a little extra to pump up the flavor) and about 1/2 tsp sea salt. By itself, the broth was VERY spicy, but the garbanzos and avocado helped mellow out the heat. For me, it didn't need the cheese--the flavor combo actually tasted a bit cheesy on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
Very good recipe. Nice change of pace. We added some crushed up tortilla chips at the table that added a nice crunch. Definately need to have the cheese and avocado with it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
I bought a can of chipotle peppers... then needed to find a recipe to use it! With all the exciting ingredients I expected more flavor. The cheese and avocado cubes were fun additions. We added salt at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This was delicious. If you want to cut the spiciness down cut out the seeds in the chipotle pepper, then add them to individual bowls as desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Very good, easy soup. I sauteed some onions and garlic first and added broth and rest of ingredients to pot. It would be great w/some chopped fresh cilantro. Didn't have this time, will next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by island girl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This was a little spicy for several of the people I served it to, but others raved about it. In the future I will probably try to make it less spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Very good soup. I omitted the salt because chicken broth has enough salt in it. I added garlic powder and in addition to the white beans, I added a can of black beans to get more protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Didn't have the Monterey Jack, but it was really good with just the avocado!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States