Sherry's German Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This turkey was amazing!! We did change things up a little bit for our puposes, but were very happy with the results! Once we stuffed the turkey with everything listed in the recipe we filled the cavity with a bottle of pinot grigio and poured the rest in the pan. We prepped the turkey with regular poultry seasoning instead of the soul food seasoning, and initially baked the turkey breast down (upside down) for 4 hours, basting and injecting with the wine and turkey drippings in the bottom of the pan. At the 4th hour we flipped the turkey, added the bacon, reduced heat to 300, and baked for 2 more hours. By far, this was one of the most tender and flavorful turkeys I have ever eaten!! We garnished the platter with sliced apple and orange to give a great color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I made this just today and it is so tender and juicy even the dark meat is like that and my wife say's don't make it any other way EVER again .....I guess she likes it...many thanks to Sherry. Jim
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This was the best turkey I've ever made! Tender, delicious meat. This is the only turkey recipe I will ever use. I made the soul food seasoning, provided by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Family raved over this last year can't wait to make again this year
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaxons-mom
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
this is sooo good. the only change we made was covering in tin foil for all except the last half hour instead of a turkey bag. you can really taste the orange/citrus in the meat and its even better the second day and cold (according to my husband). We did the recipe ahead of time to 'test' it before the big day and its def. a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albemarle, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Locust, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Fantastic... Best turkey I've ever made and easy too! This will be something I make every Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephelzz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
OMG! This was the best turkey ever. I admit that I am not a big roasted turkey fan so I'm always looking for new twist to spruce up a normally dry and tastless main course. This recipe did just that. It was easy to do the night before and it was gorgeous when it came out of the oven. I'm still getting phone calls for visitors about how moist and tasty the turkey was. I was expecting that the salt in the bacon would be too much but it was totally neutralized. I have never had a turkey fall off the bone will trying to carve it. This recipe is worth 10 stars but I can only give 5. P.S. Soul Food seasoning...is the same thing as McCormick's Seasonal or Lawry's Season Salt. I compared the labels. Eat and be Merry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Awesome twist to a turkey dinner. I love not having to baste. I was able to put the turkey in and nap before the festivities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This made a MOIST turkey. I cooked it in the pressure cooker, and the flavor was wonderful. It was a giant turkey so I was afraid it would be dry, but this did the trick. I used the apple, celery, onion and carrot, and used seasoned salt and pepper. I wonder if stuffing doesn't actually dry your turkey out? This was supermoist and wonderfully tasty! Next time I must have the orange too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kerry
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This Year was the first year I have ever made a Turkey I used sherrys recipe and it was amazing! My turkey was so moist it literally fell off the bone! Thank you so much I was so scared to make a turkey this year and you got me through it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sherry's German Turkey

See how to take turkey to the next level with bacon!

Turkey in a Bag

See how to prepare a wonderfully moist roast turkey using an oven bag.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States