Sherry's German Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
My roommate and I made this, with an addition of spices between the skin and meat, and a substitution of lemon for orange. We cooked it under a foil tent because we didn't have a bag. It came out amazing. The meat fell of the bone, it is delectable and juicy. I didn't intend to change the recipe, really, I just didn't have an orange and Steve Reichlen recommends the spices under the skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Womack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Been using the cavity filler for years so the only thing new for me in this recipe was the addition of the bacon which for me did not add a lot of flavor. Might try it again but was not really that excited about it in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This was ok, didn't really make it any more moist than when I cook it normally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Simply Delicious - and the Aroma it filled the house with was to die for !! I used 2 packages of Applewood bacon (created an 18ib "Bird in Bondage") - inserted a rack into the cooking bag first...then the Bird - and in alittle over 4 hrs she was done to perfection...browned all the way around with no greasy bottom...tender, moist and oh so very Tasty !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Sounds great. Hope my hubby will let me make this next yr. He doesn't normally like fruit with meat. To lmh32683, when you have drippings, you need to separate the fat out from the other liquid. There is a fat separater cup, you can buy. I just get a large spoon & skim the top; that is where the fat stays. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CinC
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I didn't use a turkey bag, used thick cut smoked bacon and wove the strips over my 16 lb. bird. Not only was this the prettiest bird I have ever done, it was by far the juiciest and most delish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CinC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This was the best turkey I've ever made! Even my husband, who doesn't like turkey because of it's tendency to be dry, thought this was very moist and he loved it! I followed the recipe nearly exactly, using Lawrey's seasoning salt in place of the soul food seasoning, and instead of putting the turkey in a bag I just put it in my roasting pan and put the lid on it, basting it every 45 minutes. (Before stuffing it, I also pulled the skin on the breast back and rubbed a scant amount of Lawrey's seasoning salt on the meat itself, because my father in law doesn't eat poultry skin so the meat itself needed to be seasoned.) Everything turned out sooo yummy. This will be my go to recipe from here on out. Thank you, thank you, thank you! My only small complaint is that the gravy made from the drippings was VERY fatty, and didn't have the best flavor in my opinion. It wasn't bad, just wasn't as good as the turkey gravy I usually make using a gravy mix. Ha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Meier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lorenzod
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This turkey was Da Bomb. It was easy to marinade and all I had to do was place it in a bag and 3.5 hours later, I had a slammin turkey. My guests loved it and now I am going to use the carcass for a throw down soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Seriously the BEST turkey I've ever made and the gravy it made was amazing. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil and fresh rosemary, thyme and sage instead of soul food seasoning. My guests were raving about the turkey and begging for the recipe. And it give a whole new meaning to the term "turkey bacon!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Made for Thanksgiving this year and everyone loved it. The meat was tasty and moist and the drippings made great gravy. This will be my go to turkey recipe from now on. Thanks for sharing it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sherry's German Turkey

See how to take turkey to the next level with bacon!

Turkey in a Bag

See how to prepare a wonderfully moist roast turkey using an oven bag.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States