Sherry's German Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I needed something new to do with the old bird I had in freezer since April and I did not want to do a tradfitional STUFFED bird, seems I am the only fan around!! I LOVE bacon on anything and have had and made baked chicken similiar to this method so I gave it a whirl.... IT WAS AWESOME, melt off the bone... I choose a covered roaster over the bag method but sealed lid down with a strip of foil for the first two hours then basted bird every 30 minutes there after until it reached temp... I would suggest using a thick cut bacon or over-laying if you are using a thinner cut , I used a 3lb box of ends and peices and layered bird with 2lbs or better of it after all its the fat and water content you are wanting from bacon. I also skimmed some of the fat off cooking juices since I over baconed if that's possible, then I made my gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Garnet B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bono, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hoteamom
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I made this recipe for Christmas day and got rave reviews on my turkey. I didn't follow the recipe exactly, like other reviewers, and it turned out fabulous. I used about 1.5 lbs. of bacon for an 16 lb. turkey. Basically I covered my turkey in bacon, once I had put it in the roaster, covered it with the lid & cooked it until the meat thermometer read 185 degrees. It made awesome gravy too. Neither the turkey nor the gravy was greasy at all. I used maple smoked bacon, not sure if that made a difference or not. I can't wait to cook a chicken or another turkey this way. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: High Level, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Took to hubby's office potluck, didn't have any left overs to take home even though there was another turkey, and two hams... I wouldn't make it just for us, but a major party hit. We usually roast in our large roasting appliance, but with the bacon this doesn't work well, you need it in the oven to brown the bacon evenly. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmmmerz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by April Beep
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
So get this my mom fell broke her hip and congrats I am expected to make the turkey. Which for the record never have done. I saw this recipe last night fell in love and made it today! Not only did I successfully do the recipe but they loved it more than how they have been cooking it. My brother couldn't get over how moist it was! Only bad news is I'm expected to cook it next year no debates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Beep

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
LOVE LOVE LOVE this turkey! I make it every year now! Thanks for sharing it with us! = )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Robbins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This was fabulous! I had never made a turkey before and I made this in my crockpot because I had to work and that seemed the easiest way to cook it without drying it out while I was gone. I got rave reviews from all guests and several said it was the best turkey they EVER ate and it wassooo juicy and tender. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita Easterling

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I have never made a turkey before, but my husband challedged me to try it- and THIS recipe is AWESOME! Turkey came out very moist and delicious, the meat just fell off the bone when we tried to carve it. I was very worried about the combination of flavors but I should not have been. Absolutely incredible recipe, thank you!! **I did not have, and could not find, Soul Food Seasoning. I Googled the ingredients instead and sprinkled a little bit of each all over the turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I used this recipe to make my very first christmas turkey everyone LOVED it my husband raves about it and my 90 year old grandmother had seconds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This will be the 3rd year I've made the turkey this way. Everyone that tries it loves it. The taste is fantastic and it is so moist. I will never make a turkey another way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Awesome!!! I found this about four years ago and we make it every year...I even prepare a bird for everyone at work when I work on Turkey Day (we're military-we work all holidays)...I get RAVE reviews every year...I've even started using it on my chicken dinners!!! Try it, you will NOT be disappointed!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sherry's German Turkey

See how to take turkey to the next level with bacon!

Turkey in a Bag

See how to prepare a wonderfully moist roast turkey using an oven bag.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States