Sherry Sour Cream Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Made this last night and it was very good. I read the other reviews and only cooked my chicken in the oven for 35 minutes. Let's face it...you brown it on the stove first and that cooks the chicken at least half way through. We added garlic and chopped onion to the sauce. We found the amount of fresh thyme & rosemary was perfect. It was very tasty; hubby loved it. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blue eyed CC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
This was pretty tasty. The mixture of sherry and sour cream made a nice tangy sauce. I added 2 cloves fresh garlic and 2 cups sliced (fresh) mushrooms to the butter after I browned the chicken. I placed these on top for the last fifteen minutes of baking time. I also cut the bake time down to 45 minutes. A keeper! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
This is a great base to a fantastic combination of flavors. I added a few things: shallots, garlic & mushrooms. I also used 1.5 cups of sourcream and 1/2 cup sherry (Oloroso - Cream Sherry) so I could put this on a bed of rice with more sauce. I only kept this in the oven for 40 minutes (35 minutes and then 5 more with some parmesean/romano cheese melting on the top).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
As per a previous comment, this is a good starter for dinner. The sauce definitely needed garlic and perhaps some shallots. Also, even reducing the cooking time to 40 minutes, the chicken was slightly overdone. Depending on how well the chicken is seared, the baking time should probably be reduced even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
There's only one word for this - delicious! Added mucshrooms and cooked it covered on top of the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This was a terrific starter recipe! I added the following "tweaks". I assembled this to cook in my slow cooker. I sprinkled the frozen whole chicken breasts with lemon pepper and Rosemary. I covered them with swiss cheese. Then I sauteed some onion, celery and garlic cloves in butter. I mixed up the sour cream and sherry (using extra sherry) and added the Rosemary and Thyme. I also added basil and chives from previous members tips. I stirred in the sauteed onions, garlic and celery. Then I poured the whole thing over the chicken breast and cooked on low for 6-7 hours. Served over Penne pasta. Awesome! Thank you so much for providing a recipe that is easy to tailor to the individual family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Gave it a 4 cause it seemed like it lacked a little bit of oomph for flavor. Took the advice from others and I added some crushed garlic and diced onions when I browned the chicken. Also added a can on mushrooms (didn't have fresh). I deglazed the sherry in the pan getting up all the bits of garlic and chicken from the pan. That helps take away the alcohol taste if you're worried about that. I had to use up a sour cream container so this was perfect. I did forget to add the butter in the mixture, so I added it in the baking pan in bits and pieces and did my best trying to mix it. Overall it's a good recipe, nice twist on the traditional cream of mushroom style. Will try again with added veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This was very good and smelled great while baking. Per other reviews, I added onions, mushrooms, and minced garlic to the sauce. I didn't have fresh herbs available, so used dried "Tuscan herb" blend. It was still very tasty. Served with roasted root vegetables and green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This was a wonderful recipe. I tried it last night but I used pork chops instead of chicken and it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Delicious and easy! It's wonderful with some nice basmati rice. My husband even raved about it, and this isn't usually his kind of meal. The first time I made it, I used the rosemary and thyme but didn't really like the way they went with the dish. The second time I made it I omitted those spices and used garlic powder instead and liked it better. I also skipped the step of browning the chicken first and added the butter to my sour cream/sherry mixture so that I didn't have to dirty another pan. I think it tastes pretty much the same, but you just have to cook it in the oven a little bit longer. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaraAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States