Sherry Sour Cream Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
Very tasty...I used bone-in chicken thighs, lite sour cream and added onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermon, Maine, USA
Living In: Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
Great and easy recipe! I used bone-in breasts and thighs, baked for about 50 minutes. Because of reader's comments that sauce was not visually appealing, I poured it around the chicken and not on top (probably not feasible if the meat was skinless). I did not have any rosemary on hand, but a little extra sherry and fresh thyme gave it plenty of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daniel
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This is an excellent and very tasty chicken dish. The sour cream / sherry mixture is very good; in fact, I doubled the amount of sherry for maximum effect! The proportion of rosemary and thyme is perfect as I sprinkled both spices generously on the chicken breasts before adding the sour cream / sherry mixture on top of them, as instructed. I will definitely make this wonderful dish again and will add either chopped up green onions, garlic or chives based on the great suggestions made on this site. I will try the sherry / sour cream mixture on pork tenderloin as I'm positive it will be a hit in the same way it is with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casselman, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I will definitely make this again. My husband and company loved it. I didn't bake it for the full hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vialyssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This is really yummy! I did add garlic and fresh chives per other reviews but would still be fabulous without changes. We eat the chicken with basmati rice. Wow! A very delicious combo. I am eager to try that sauce with other dishes, maybe fish. Thanks for sharing. FIVE STARS, BABY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Speck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultonborough, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Wakefield, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Surprisingly good, and very quick. Also didn't bake as long as recommended, and it was fine. Didn't have fresh herbs, so used dried. Nice flavor. Look forward to trying it again with the fresh herbs. Will keep this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This recipe is great and super easy. The first time I made it, I didn't have thyme or rosemary and it was still really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Good recipe. Made some of the changes suggested by others - added garlic and onion; doubled the sauce. Served with basmati rice and the sauce was good mixed into the rice. But I give it 4 stars because the sauce just wasn't that attractive - kind of curdled looking yet my sour cream was fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Gave it a 4 cause it seemed like it lacked a little bit of oomph for flavor. Took the advice from others and I added some crushed garlic and diced onions when I browned the chicken. Also added a can on mushrooms (didn't have fresh). I deglazed the sherry in the pan getting up all the bits of garlic and chicken from the pan. That helps take away the alcohol taste if you're worried about that. I had to use up a sour cream container so this was perfect. I did forget to add the butter in the mixture, so I added it in the baking pan in bits and pieces and did my best trying to mix it. Overall it's a good recipe, nice twist on the traditional cream of mushroom style. Will try again with added veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Wow. Yummers. Made this for a quick dinner when I had random things in my fridge. Didn't really measure the s. cream and sherry, just made sure it tasted zingy like others described. Accompanied with mushroom risoto. Did add a bit of garlic. AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States