Sherry Sour Cream Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I usually only review when I don't make alterations to the recipe, but.....this is a keeper of a recipe. I was really wanting the taste of tarragon, so substituted the fresh rosemary and thyme with fresh tarragon. I sauted sliced mushrooms after browning the chicken, topped the chicken with the mushroom and sauce, baked 40 minutes and it won rave comments a dinner. Simple, tasty and perfect with egg noodles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnamosk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
My family loved it...I used EVOO instead of butter, and drained a lil of it off before making the sauce. I just put a dash of the herbs into the sauce instead of on the chicken and I also only baked for 35 minutes...my 16 month old daughter wouldn't stop eating it...great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Smethport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Outstanding! I agree with some of the other reviewers, the cooking time should be reduced. Next time I'll add the mushrooms. The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Wow, simple, fast and easy to cook, and so good! I added a few mushrooms, but other than that followed the recipe. Sauce is delicious (a little thin, but full of flavor). We served it over wild rice mix and asparagus - perfect meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I made this tonight and it is perfect as is! The only change I made was to the amount of servings (2). Also, if you're looking for a side to go with it we just had it over minute rice, there was enough sauce to flavour both the chicken and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Thank you, Charlene for a lovely, simple and very tasty chicken recipe. Husband & I both loved it. Simple to add ingredients one might prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This was a very good recipe! I used chicken thighs because they were what I had. I also followed some of the suggestions from other reviews, and added mushrooms and garlic powder to the sauce, which worked well. I also cooked it for about 40-45 minutes in the oven. My only complaints are that a 9x13 pan is definitely too big, at least for the size of the chicken pieces I was using, and that the sauce was a bit liquid-y when I removed it from the oven. I served it with egg noodles and veggies and used all of the extra sauce for the leftovers. My family loved this and I will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I love this recipe and I have been making it for about 4 months now. I've deviated just a bit from the original recipe by adding about a cup of sliced button mushrooms. I added a tiny bit of sherry to deglaze the pan that I cooked the chicken in, then sauteed the mushrooms and added the rest of the sauce mixture, and proceeded with the instructions from the original recipe. This really added more UMPH! to the meal, as well as a healthy dose of gasp! antioxidants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brit007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I used 1-1/2 C Sour Cream and 1/2 C Red Wine as I didn't have enough Sherry. Didn't use Rosemary or Thyme...out of garlic and garlic Powder or I would have used it...did have onion, so browned chicken with onion. Covered in oven, not sure if I was supposed to? Very good - served on bed of rice and drizzled lots of gravy/sauce over. Mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I LOVE THIS RECIPE! Has been my families fav for about a year now and I thought I should review it since I am making it again tonight...the only thing I change is I double the sauce...Its so very easy and it blends so well together. I always make mashed garlic potatoes and sauteed zucchini and yellow squash...Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaH1120

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States