Sherry Sour Cream Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I loved the combination of sherry and sour cream. I did add onion and mushrooms, and more sherry than in the recipe, but it was delicious. Served it with Carrot, tomato and spinach Quinoa Pilaf from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lenox, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Housatonic, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Love love love this simple but Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
He is still raving about this one! Such a nice change, when every chicken dish does not taste and look alike! Be sure you like sherry, because that taste will carry though; and remember that sherry is rather salty, so don't overseason. I made as-written (always the first time), and we licked the dish clean. I agree that mushrooms would be a good addition (per other reviewers' suggestion), and I like the idea of doubling the sauce to serve over rice. He is already asking if I'm going to make this again :) Thanks Charlene for this great new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Cumming

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Tried this the first time, exactly as written, and everyone at the table loved it. Since then, I've substituted whatever vermouth/wine I had on hand, including marsala, and cabernet--always good. I've also substituted other fresh herbs (e.g. tarragon), used dried herbs when nothing fresh on hand, tossed mushrooms into it--fresh or canned, depending on what was in the house at the time. My oven tends to run hotter than it should, so 30 minutes was just right. Never any leftovers! I'd have given it five stars, except that I try to reserve that rating for REALLY outstanding dishes. Four stars? Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roselle, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Boyfriend went crazy for this! I doctored up the original recipe using 1/2 c diced celery, 2/3 c diced onion, 2 cloves minced garlic, and a small package of fresh sliced mushrooms. I sauteed these with the butter before browning the chicken. It added lots of flavor. I didn't have fresh herbs so I used dry bottled herbs and cut the amount in half. This dish was the best thing I've made in a long long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissRachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
As the other reviewers noted baking this for an hour gets it way overdone. That aside I tried a very similar recipe recently that had tarragon instead of thyme and rosemary which I likes.much better. I think that is personal preferance that. I like the flavor of tarragon more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
A good call I made was to search for and find a totally different brand butter and cooking sherry than what I'm accustomed to getting. If you're low on sour cream--add in 1 and half cans Cream of Chicken / Mushroom soup. Don't worry when you take dish out from oven and see sauce separation between it and butter. Remove chicken from baking dish onto a serving platter, and scrape clean ALL the sauce from the pan into a small saucepan and whisk or blender stir the sauce. THIS is where you can also adjust slightly more sherry, rosemary and/or thyme to suit your taste. The family didn't leave leftovers---that earned the 4th star on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bogalusa, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
followed the recipe but we used whole leg quarters and I don't know how but a little extra sherry fell into the pan but it was no problem. We loved it and will make again and hope you will too. One problem I had was incorporating the sour cream, maybe I will temper it before adding because it didn't look great was a little lumpy but tasted great. Strangly when we reheated left over at high heat in the oven it smoothed out, so make it and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Super easy and soooo good. I like to make a little extra sauce to add on top of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe. I've made it about 3 times now, including Mother's Day. My partner's parents don't eat dairy, however, so I simply substitute the sour cream and butter for their non-dairy counterparts. I also tend to use the dried herbs as opposed to the fresh 'cause - well - I'm lazy like that. Works just as well, though I advise using less thyme or the recipe gets overpowered with thymieness. :-).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States