Sherry Sour Cream Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
This was pretty tasty. The mixture of sherry and sour cream made a nice tangy sauce. I added 2 cloves fresh garlic and 2 cups sliced (fresh) mushrooms to the butter after I browned the chicken. I placed these on top for the last fifteen minutes of baking time. I also cut the bake time down to 45 minutes. A keeper! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
I liked this recipe alot! I didn't have ground Rosemary, so had to use what I had. Created a weird texture, but tasted GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
My husband and I liked this very much--I skipped the thyme as I didn't have any, used chicken tenders which cut the cooking time by half, and also used light sour cream. The sauce had an incredible flavor and next time I plan to increase the amount of it so that it can be spooned over pasta or potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
Fabulous!! The sauce is a winner, and the chicken is moist and tender. Sometimes you just have to forget about calories!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
This recipe was SO GOOD. I added mushrooms - I sauteed them in the sherry/sour cream mixture. It was awesome - highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
I made some modifications to the recipe, and it didn't suit my taste buds much, but my husband savoured it. I was rushed on time and grilled the chicken while I prepared the sauce in a sauce pan, and poured it over the chicken when done. I think my mistake was adding dried rosemary but will try this recipe again with some fresh herbs. Three stars, but definitely worth giving it another try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
Tasty, but the cooking time was too long. The chicken came out a little dry, and the sauce around the chicken was burned. I'd cut it to about 45 minutes like another reader suggested. I also added a little garlic powder to the sauce, and a pinch of Cajun seasoning mixture to the chicken before browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
Thank you, other reviewers, for warning about the time! Due to reviews, I checked at 40 minutes and it was done! It would have been dry and burnt, had I baked for the hour the recipe stated. I used a healthier butter substitute (Soy Garden) and the sauce still had great flavor. It does "cry out" for mushrooms or a veggie/s ie:brocolli, sweet onions,or anything you like. I stir-fried thick-sliced zucchini and little squares of red onion and chopped portabellas in a garlic/olive oil, as a side, but will add to cook WITH the chicken next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2004
This was sinfully good! I took other reviewers suggestions and baked for only 40 minutes. I also added mushrooms and onions as was suggested. I put in squash as well since I had it and it was great. I served with egg noodles. Rice would go well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
The sauce was good but the chicken was way too dry. I even cut the time down to 40 minutes per other suggestions and used thick chicken breasts. Would probably not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI

Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States