Sherry Sour Cream Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
This was pretty tasty. The mixture of sherry and sour cream made a nice tangy sauce. I added 2 cloves fresh garlic and 2 cups sliced (fresh) mushrooms to the butter after I browned the chicken. I placed these on top for the last fifteen minutes of baking time. I also cut the bake time down to 45 minutes. A keeper! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
I liked this recipe alot! I didn't have ground Rosemary, so had to use what I had. Created a weird texture, but tasted GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
My husband and I liked this very much--I skipped the thyme as I didn't have any, used chicken tenders which cut the cooking time by half, and also used light sour cream. The sauce had an incredible flavor and next time I plan to increase the amount of it so that it can be spooned over pasta or potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
Fabulous!! The sauce is a winner, and the chicken is moist and tender. Sometimes you just have to forget about calories!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
This recipe was SO GOOD. I added mushrooms - I sauteed them in the sherry/sour cream mixture. It was awesome - highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
I made some modifications to the recipe, and it didn't suit my taste buds much, but my husband savoured it. I was rushed on time and grilled the chicken while I prepared the sauce in a sauce pan, and poured it over the chicken when done. I think my mistake was adding dried rosemary but will try this recipe again with some fresh herbs. Three stars, but definitely worth giving it another try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
Tasty, but the cooking time was too long. The chicken came out a little dry, and the sauce around the chicken was burned. I'd cut it to about 45 minutes like another reader suggested. I also added a little garlic powder to the sauce, and a pinch of Cajun seasoning mixture to the chicken before browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
Thank you, other reviewers, for warning about the time! Due to reviews, I checked at 40 minutes and it was done! It would have been dry and burnt, had I baked for the hour the recipe stated. I used a healthier butter substitute (Soy Garden) and the sauce still had great flavor. It does "cry out" for mushrooms or a veggie/s ie:brocolli, sweet onions,or anything you like. I stir-fried thick-sliced zucchini and little squares of red onion and chopped portabellas in a garlic/olive oil, as a side, but will add to cook WITH the chicken next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2004
This was sinfully good! I took other reviewers suggestions and baked for only 40 minutes. I also added mushrooms and onions as was suggested. I put in squash as well since I had it and it was great. I served with egg noodles. Rice would go well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
The sauce was good but the chicken was way too dry. I even cut the time down to 40 minutes per other suggestions and used thick chicken breasts. Would probably not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI

Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States