Sherry Sour Cream Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Made this last night and it was very good. I read the other reviews and only cooked my chicken in the oven for 35 minutes. Let's face it...you brown it on the stove first and that cooks the chicken at least half way through. We added garlic and chopped onion to the sauce. We found the amount of fresh thyme & rosemary was perfect. It was very tasty; hubby loved it. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blue eyed CC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I'm giving this 3 stars because the recipe isn't written well. Overall this is a good tasting recipe but the cooking time is way to long. I baked mine about 25 minutes, using a meat thermometer. Also, there is way to much thyme, in my opinion. I also added a teaspoon of minced garlic. If you are serving this over rice or pasta, double the sauce. I served with egg noodles and steamed asparagus. I will make this again with my changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPolencheck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
This had a slight vinegar taste to it which I enjoy but I'm not sure if a lot of other people do. I served it over penne noodles but I think the sauce would go better with mashed potatoes. I'll try it again by decreasing the amount of sherry and adding garlic and italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Fairly good, but needed a little something more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This was very good and smelled great while baking. Per other reviews, I added onions, mushrooms, and minced garlic to the sauce. I didn't have fresh herbs available, so used dried "Tuscan herb" blend. It was still very tasty. Served with roasted root vegetables and green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
a full hour in the oven dried out my chicken and made the sour cream sauce gummy and separated - if i try this again, i'll use creme fraiche (it handles heat better) and start checking after 1/2 hour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
The herbs were way too over powering for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
I thought this was a good change from the norm as far as chicken is concerned. I added mushrooms to mine, but I did not double the sauce. There was plenty to go around and it was pretty tasty. But the next time I make this (and I WILL be making this again) I will double it and add a little less cherry. It was just a little strong for us. I made six servings and it all got eaten. My son, mister picky eater himself, went back for seconds! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
There's only one word for this - delicious! Added mucshrooms and cooked it covered on top of the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
This was so yummy. I made it with pork chops instead. Goes great with mashed potatoes. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States