Sherry Sour Cream Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Hubby really enjoyed this dish. I made enough for leftovers and it tasted better the second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I really like the idea of this recipe, it's a different way to make chicken and that is always good! I half it and make it for two. I have made it twice now with the following alterations. To lower the fat content, I use two Tbsp of light margarine. I use one Tbsp to brown the chicken, then remove from pan. I add the other Tbsp and then saute garlic, mushrooms and a shallot. Even though I half the sour cream I still use 1/4 cup of sherry. When cooking, I used a cast iron fry pan to brown everything and then just put it straight in the oven. I also covered the pan with tin foil to keep in the moisture and took it off for the last 5 minutes. I only cooked the chicken for about 35 minutes. This recipe is very tasty and still easy enough to make on a weeknight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Followed other suggestions and added minced garlic and onions to butter while browning chicken. Used the sherry to de-glaze the pan and the sauce came out great. The spices were a great touch and with using a meat themometer, took the chicken out of the oven after 25 minutes when it reached a temp of 165 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
We found this dish to have a great flavor with a nice tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kevin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I did make some changes but this was delicious!!! I pounded the chicken breasts flat first and seasoned them before sauteing them. I used dried tarragon (in place of rosemary), thyme, salt and pepper to season the chicken. Browned the breasts on both sides and then continued cooking. Added roasted garlic and onions to the pan. Once I thought the chicken was cooked through (maybe 10 min) I removed them and deglazed the pan with the sherry then added the sour cream. I put the chicken on top of egg noodles and poured the sauce over them. Doing it this way made it quick as well as delicious and used less dishes. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavannahWild

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
We loved it as is! I didn' have fresh herbs so I used dried. My meat was very thick so I cooked it the full hour. My sauce got extra thick but the meat was still very tender and moist. So quick to get in the oven and so delicious. We'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Great recipe-have used many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
With the addition of fresh mushrooms, this was delicious served with brown rice and broccoli. I baked it for 35 minutes as suggested in another review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ronalyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This came out good - although I too made some changes. I added a Goya seasoning packet, and since I didnt have fresh herbs, I only used dried. I left out the additional butter, only used the sherry to deglaze then added the sour cream. I didnt miss it - it was great over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I made this last night and my 3 kids, who are trying to get picky on me, and my husband loved it, as did I!!!!! I did take the advice from previous posts and added finely diced onions and 3-4 cloves of garlic. My husband isn't a huge fan of rosemary, so I just used and italian seasoning blend in it. We gobbled it up and I had some pasta too for the extra sauce. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATCASTEEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States