Sherry Sour Cream Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
An easy and delicious recipe to tweak to your own tastes. I added fresh garlic, used 1 tsp of rosemary, sliced onions and mushrooms added fresh tarragon, doubled the sauce and included 2 Tbs of flour to tighten up the sauce. Since dark meat is my favorite I replaced the breasts with boneless chicken thighs 2 to 1. I'll definitely make this a few time a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Substituted marsala for sherry and added onions and garlic while browning chicken- yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This chicken is YUMMY!! I'm a big fan of sherry, so it's only natural that I would love a recipe like this. I also add onion and sliced mushrooms to the pan before the sour cream and sherry. Thanks Charlene for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CT_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Windsor Locks, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Pretty good although I think 1 hour in the oven was overkill (some of the sauce was burned around the edges). The dish was easy to make, not complicated, smelled great while cooking, and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This is an easy and tasty recipe that I make all the time for my family. I double the sauce part since we like to use it as a gravy over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This is pretty good ,but probably nothing I'll desire to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I made this tonight and taking suggestions from other reviewers I sauteed some sliced onions and mushrooms in the pan before deglazing with sherry and adding sour cream and I sprinkled the chicken with garlic powder (I didn't have fresh). I only baked the chicken 35 minutes, 1 hour would have been way too long. I thought the rosemary taste was a little strong but I'm giving it 5 stars because my husband declared it delicious and worthy of a world class restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazylazycook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Tasted good, and I would make it again. I doubled the sauce but it was not enough for me - not enough to use as gravy for noodles, so would triple next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I felt like this recipe offered nothing special. The flavor of the Sherry was too strong, and I actually enjoy Sherry. My husband was underwhelmed, but ate it nonetheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I usually only review when I don't make alterations to the recipe, but.....this is a keeper of a recipe. I was really wanting the taste of tarragon, so substituted the fresh rosemary and thyme with fresh tarragon. I sauted sliced mushrooms after browning the chicken, topped the chicken with the mushroom and sauce, baked 40 minutes and it won rave comments a dinner. Simple, tasty and perfect with egg noodles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnamosk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States