Sherry Sour Cream Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
Made this last night, and it was delicious! I followed the recipe for the most part. Browned the chicken in butter for 25 minutes or so and removed them from the pan. Followed the measurements in the recipe for sour cream and sherry. I don't measure my spices, but I did use dry rosemary and thyme, salt & pepper as suggested in the recipe; also added Red Robin's seasoning (my "secret" ingredient) & chicken boullion to the sauce. Right before placing it all in the oven, I threw in a can of mushrooms over the chicken and smothered it all in the sauce. Left it in the oven for 15-20 minutes (to let the chicken cook completely through), and "voila!" Served it with short grain brown rice. Boyfriend loved it, we practically licked the oven dish clean. Next time, I'll use fresh rosemary. I think I'll use this sauce for lots of other things as well (mmmm, like mashed potatoes) - it's THAT good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parisaha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This was a wonderful recipe. I tried it last night but I used pork chops instead of chicken and it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This was easy and good. Even the kids liked it. We've added it to the go-to recipe list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
As per a previous comment, this is a good starter for dinner. The sauce definitely needed garlic and perhaps some shallots. Also, even reducing the cooking time to 40 minutes, the chicken was slightly overdone. Depending on how well the chicken is seared, the baking time should probably be reduced even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
After reading the reviews I also added garlic, and some green shallots. I also cut down the cooking time to 40 minutes. It did not look appetizing when it was done. The sour cream had curled, and I did remember to check the expiration date on the tub. Although I thought this was tasty, my husband thought it was gross. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Delicious and easy! It's wonderful with some nice basmati rice. My husband even raved about it, and this isn't usually his kind of meal. The first time I made it, I used the rosemary and thyme but didn't really like the way they went with the dish. The second time I made it I omitted those spices and used garlic powder instead and liked it better. I also skipped the step of browning the chicken first and added the butter to my sour cream/sherry mixture so that I didn't have to dirty another pan. I think it tastes pretty much the same, but you just have to cook it in the oven a little bit longer. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaraAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
We had a terrible thunderstorm here this evening. I didn't have time to make the meal I was planning on, it took two hours to cook and everyone was hungry. I tossed this together and made some corn and a salad. It was very good. The sauce would be excellent with rice. I did put the sherry in the pan first and deglazed it well, and burned off some of the alcohol. Then I turned down the heat and added the sour cream. Next time it gets mushrooms added to it. I did salt and pepper my chicken really well, before I sauteed it. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Liedel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I made this for my parents in law when they came over for dinner. I added 1 chopped onion and 10 sliced mushrooms to the dish and cooked for 40 minutes. I would suggest doubling the sauce if you want to put this over noodles, as I found it a bit dry when placed on top of egg noodles. But the taste was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
Some may like this, it may be an acquired taste... it just wasn't for us. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLEE02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Delicious! I sauteed fresh sliced mushrooms in the butter after I removed the chicken. Then spooned them over the chicken before blending the sherry and sour cream. Served this with rice. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States