Sherry Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
It was good and my friends liked it. I lost my sherry recipe so I tried this one. It tasted more like a cinnamon crunch cake than a sherry cake. I barely tasted the alcohol in this one - this one doesn't take like a rum cake made w sherry. The kids can safely eat this one. My recipe calls for sherry in the mix and some cooked on the stove and then it's poured on top of the cake (while in the pan) afterward and no cinnamon only a little nutmeg. I hope to find my original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle McKinnie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Made this cake last night for friends. My husband was skeptical when I said we needed "mixes" to make it (he's a from- scratch baker). He and everyone loved it. Oh, and I goofed when adding the oil and sherry; I thought I was using a 1/4 C measure, but it was a 1/3 c measure. Threw in a 1/4 c flour when I realized my error and it turned out beautifully. Might be making again for Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This recipe is great, especially around the holidays. For people who aren't fans of cinnamon sugar (not many people), I actually found an altered version of this recipe where the cinnamon sugar mixture is replaced with 1 oz poppy seeds blended into the batter. Pour on a sherry glaze (1/6 cup sherry, 1 cup powdered sugar) and it makes one heck of a Christmas cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Woah - this cake is GOOD. I normally don't do box cakes but I had some sherry to use up and thought I'd give it a shot. This was fantastic! I was short an egg, so I put a little extra sherry and a splash of milk. I lost my bundt pan so I put it in a springform pan. It turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Followed recipe almost exactly, only omitting half the nutmeg and adding 3/4 cup chopped pecans. The cake was good. Though I enjoyed the sugar/cinnamon/cocoa topping, I would have preferred a glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I made this for several occassions and everyone loved it. It is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
AMAZING!!! I made it for my mom's birthday party and it was a HUGE HIT! The only change I made was subbing out half of the oil for applesauce. DELICIOUS!! Thank you so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
didn't use the cinnamon sugar mix. Wonderful as a plane sherry bundt cake. Sprinkled some confectioners sugar on top,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I made this exactly by the recipe. It was only ok. It was very moist, but we thought it had a bit of a sour aftertaste. I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I was given this same recipe years ago by a lady I worked with in Old Town, Albuquerque, NM but she added a glaze which was 1 cup powder sugar, 1TBL spoon milk, and 1tsp butter flavoring, then drizzle on top. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States