Sherry Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Made this cake last night for friends. My husband was skeptical when I said we needed "mixes" to make it (he's a from- scratch baker). He and everyone loved it. Oh, and I goofed when adding the oil and sherry; I thought I was using a 1/4 C measure, but it was a 1/3 c measure. Threw in a 1/4 c flour when I realized my error and it turned out beautifully. Might be making again for Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This recipe is great, especially around the holidays. For people who aren't fans of cinnamon sugar (not many people), I actually found an altered version of this recipe where the cinnamon sugar mixture is replaced with 1 oz poppy seeds blended into the batter. Pour on a sherry glaze (1/6 cup sherry, 1 cup powdered sugar) and it makes one heck of a Christmas cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Woah - this cake is GOOD. I normally don't do box cakes but I had some sherry to use up and thought I'd give it a shot. This was fantastic! I was short an egg, so I put a little extra sherry and a splash of milk. I lost my bundt pan so I put it in a springform pan. It turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Followed recipe almost exactly, only omitting half the nutmeg and adding 3/4 cup chopped pecans. The cake was good. Though I enjoyed the sugar/cinnamon/cocoa topping, I would have preferred a glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I made this for several occassions and everyone loved it. It is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
AMAZING!!! I made it for my mom's birthday party and it was a HUGE HIT! The only change I made was subbing out half of the oil for applesauce. DELICIOUS!! Thank you so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
didn't use the cinnamon sugar mix. Wonderful as a plane sherry bundt cake. Sprinkled some confectioners sugar on top,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I made this exactly by the recipe. It was only ok. It was very moist, but we thought it had a bit of a sour aftertaste. I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I was given this same recipe years ago by a lady I worked with in Old Town, Albuquerque, NM but she added a glaze which was 1 cup powder sugar, 1TBL spoon milk, and 1tsp butter flavoring, then drizzle on top. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
The Sherry cake was moist and yummy. It is very easy to make quickly. I glazed it with an orange juice, vanilla and confectioner sugar icing because I didn't have the chocolate. I'll make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States