Sherry Apple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Really good! My daughter 99.9% of the time does not care for what I make for dinner. BUT she has asked for this almost weekly (and twice the first week) since I found this recipe! I use the sauce as gravy over mashed potatoes so I'll double or triple that part (still excellent flavor) thanks for this "keeper"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ktAZ
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
AWESOME fall recipe! The cinnamon hit the spot. I added gold and regular raisins and 2 cinnamon sticks to the baking pans. The raisins really added a great sweetness to the overall flavor. I didn't have sherry, so I used a bourbon and it was still really good! 10
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktAZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
The pork chops were very dry, so an hour was too long. And the apples were very mushy - there was too much liquid! As I took it out of the oven I considered pouring off the extra liquid, then decided to move the pork and "apple stew" into a bowl with and served it with ladle. Not exactly what I had in mind, and unfortunately I did not read the reviews which would have helped with this problem a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Patterson, New York, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe. I see some people mentioning a missing WOW factor and the pork chops drying out. I add a few cloves, a little nutmeg and allspice (just a little), and onions. And if you want moist pork, I highly recommend using a tenderloin or pork butt roast instead of chops. I salt and pepper the roast, then I rub it with brown sugar. If I have time, I brown on all sides in a frying pan then put it in the roasting pan on top of the apples, onions and spices and sherry (sometimes I add a little apple juice too) and roast it according to the recipe. I serve it with mashed potatoes because the sherry sauce makes a nice gravy. I think I'm going to make it for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This was liked by all , but wasn't one that I was begged to make again. If/when I make it again, I will try to thicken up the juice with some cornstarch and make a sauce for the chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
DH loved this-I think it is okay, but nothing special. I used three Gala apples, used apple juice instead of sherry, and used country ribs. I cooked these for 5 hours in the crock pot on "low". The apples were wonderful and the pork was good, but I didn't really enjoy the combination of flavors. DH did, and wants it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
this was good. used apple wine instead of sherry. easy peasy dinner for a weeknight. used a thick cut chop on the bone. done is about 35 - 40 mins in the oven. thanks for the post christyj!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
This is a first. I am writing this review while my chops are still cooking. I followed the suggestion of other reviewers and added additional sherry/cornstarch for the final ten minutes. Between the wonderful aroma filling my kitchen and the sight of those beautiful chops and apples, I lost all self-control and snitched a sample. It is one of the most delicious dishes I've ever tasted. I can't wait to see the expression on my husband's face when he takes his first bite. I can tell already I'll be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
What a wonderful, simple and delicious weeknight recipe! So seasonal, I used granny smith apples for a nice tart taste. I made exactly as written, just browned my chops in an oven safe saute pan, and removed and added the apple slices and spices, butter, then just placed them on top with the sherry and into the oven they went. Moist and tasty, plenty of pan juices. Oh, and I did add some dried cranberries to the mix. Hubs raved over this. Thank you for sharing your recipe. Update 10/22/12...Tonight I rubbed the pork chops with McCormic Jerk seasoning then browned, wow, adds wonderful flavor that compliments the brown sugar/cinnamon so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
My whole family enjoyed this dish. I did not have any apples in the house and so I used a can of apple pie filling instead. I added a little extra cinnamon and brown sugar to it along with a bit of dried cherries. Also added some fresh minced garlic to the pan while browning and sprinkled on some dried thyme as I love thyme with pork. Otherwise I followed the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States