Sherry Apple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This was liked by all , but wasn't one that I was begged to make again. If/when I make it again, I will try to thicken up the juice with some cornstarch and make a sauce for the chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
DH loved this-I think it is okay, but nothing special. I used three Gala apples, used apple juice instead of sherry, and used country ribs. I cooked these for 5 hours in the crock pot on "low". The apples were wonderful and the pork was good, but I didn't really enjoy the combination of flavors. DH did, and wants it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
this was good. used apple wine instead of sherry. easy peasy dinner for a weeknight. used a thick cut chop on the bone. done is about 35 - 40 mins in the oven. thanks for the post christyj!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
This is a first. I am writing this review while my chops are still cooking. I followed the suggestion of other reviewers and added additional sherry/cornstarch for the final ten minutes. Between the wonderful aroma filling my kitchen and the sight of those beautiful chops and apples, I lost all self-control and snitched a sample. It is one of the most delicious dishes I've ever tasted. I can't wait to see the expression on my husband's face when he takes his first bite. I can tell already I'll be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
What a wonderful, simple and delicious weeknight recipe! So seasonal, I used granny smith apples for a nice tart taste. I made exactly as written, just browned my chops in an oven safe saute pan, and removed and added the apple slices and spices, butter, then just placed them on top with the sherry and into the oven they went. Moist and tasty, plenty of pan juices. Oh, and I did add some dried cranberries to the mix. Hubs raved over this. Thank you for sharing your recipe. Update 10/22/12...Tonight I rubbed the pork chops with McCormic Jerk seasoning then browned, wow, adds wonderful flavor that compliments the brown sugar/cinnamon so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
My whole family enjoyed this dish. I did not have any apples in the house and so I used a can of apple pie filling instead. I added a little extra cinnamon and brown sugar to it along with a bit of dried cherries. Also added some fresh minced garlic to the pan while browning and sprinkled on some dried thyme as I love thyme with pork. Otherwise I followed the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
These pork chops and apples turned out just OK. I think if I tried them again, I'd put the apples on top of the pork chops so that the juice,of which there was a lot, would help moisten and flavor the chops. You couldn't taste the sherry, which was a little bit of a disappointment to me. I think I might try them again with those changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I just made for Easter dinner tonight and it was great. I too, thickened the drippings with cornstarch and water for those who wanted a dark sweet gravy for the mashed potatoes. Fantastic dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I did them in the slow cooker and threw in an extra apple since I had just one left. One poster said not to do em in the slow cooker as they came out hard and dry. I just can't picture how anything coming out of a slow cooker can come out hard and dry if the lid was on tight. The apples did come out overcooked though. Will try again in the regular oven/family did like the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This was a fabulous upgrade from other apple pork chop recipes I've tried in the past. I followed the recipe almost as instructed, but instead of baking it pan fried the pork chops and then made the sauce in the same pan until it thickened a bit. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alison.allen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mahtomedi, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States