Sherry Apple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
It was too sweet for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
on my second cooking of this meal I used a bit more sugar and deglazed the skillet with sherry I seared the chops in and poured that over the chops and apples and also a pinch all spice kind of added a bit more zing to the flavor and a nice under taste But this was a great recipe thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This rocks! I did add my own touch, which is why I will give it 4 stars... first, I seasoned the chops very well with salt and pepper. I seared them until good and brown in EVOO/butter. Then I tossed in the apples and some thinly sliced onion. I sprinkled the brown sugar and cinnamon on top and splashed the sherry over the whole thing. A little extra pinch of salt and pepper and I covered this and let it all simmer on the stove top, about 15 more min. At the very end, I added a little corn starch slurry to thicken the juices. My hubby and I devoured our chops and were picking at the remaining apples that were left in the pan... perfectly sweet and savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rockerchic821

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I made this last night and it was great! I don't usually like cooked apples, but this was superb. I did add some apple sauce and served it over quinoa. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Overall it was ok but not something I plan on making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin M Dohring
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Very good, not quite as much of the wow factor as I expected though. I seasoned and seared the pork first, and also briefly cooked the apples with the cinnamon and sugar before putting in the baking dish. Great flavor and would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
really good! I used both sherry and apple juice, and threw some chopped almonds and amaretto in there for fun...came out excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Pork chops were moist and delicious (boneless chops seasoned with Montreal Steak Seasoning) - cooked for 40 minutes until they reached 160 degrees. Used Granny Smith Green Apples sliced into 1/8ths and they kind of lost their flavor (I didn't peel the skins off and they kept intact). I used Trader Joe's Spiced Apple Cider and Pinot Grigio White Wine. I know, I know, I should not change the recipe but I ran out of Sherry! A bit of Spiced Apple Cider and Cornstarch to thicken. Added raisins as another suggested and they loved that! Served over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
The cooking time really is dependent upon how thick your chops are, and I think the recipe should make note of that. Mine were bone-in, center-cup chops about 3/4" thick. I checked them at 30 minutes, and the thermometer read 165 degrees F, totally overcooked. In spite of the dryness, the flavor was excellent, and the broth made a fantastic sauce thickened with a cornstarch slurry. Definitely will try this again, next time starting to check at 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Really good! My daughter 99.9% of the time does not care for what I make for dinner. BUT she has asked for this almost weekly (and twice the first week) since I found this recipe! I use the sauce as gravy over mashed potatoes so I'll double or triple that part (still excellent flavor) thanks for this "keeper"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States