Sherry Apple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
this was a very good and easy pork chop recipe. The pork stayed very moist. the only thing I changed was I put a layer of apples on top as well as bottom. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
This is awesome!!! My wife absolutely loved it. I did thicken it with corn starch and water after removing the chops. I also put the chops in the baking dish first, and then covered them with the apples. they came out super tender. no need for a knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eldon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Wow. This was AMAZING. I browned my pork chops on low and gave them a little longer in the pan so they wouldn't be tough. They turned out really tender. I also did the 2 tablespoons of corn starch and 1/4 cup of sherry at the end, and I think that really made a difference; the sauce was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Very good recipe but I found that the cut of porkchop may make a difference. A butterfly pork chop was a little on the dry side. Perhaps a little less cooking time would help too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I made this recipe last night and my husband raved about it. I only cooked 2 thick pork chops; but, used the ingredients for the full recipe. I too added some sherry with cornstarch at the end, the sauce looked thin. I also added about 1/2 c. pecans, this added a nice flavor. Next time that I make this recipe I will probably add more cinnamon and possibly a little nutmeg. I thought it was very good; but, missing a little something. Oh, I browned the chops in a little butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Made the recipe exactly as written - we liked it a lot and even our three-year-old ate an entire pork chop, so it gets thumbs up from the whole family. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I've made this twice now, and it was wonderful both times. Looks very pretty served over cooked spinach which you can mix with the sauce and it will taste delicious! Garnish with the extra apples from the bottom of the pan, and leave the sauce runny so that the pretty browned chops keep looking clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wylie, Texas, USA
Living In: Washington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Needed lots more apples, and the sauce was too thin. The chops were not tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
YUMMY!!! I followed suggestions and added a bit of cornstarch and liquid at the end to thicken the sauce. Served it with homemade mashed potatoes and steamed green beans-- the sauce made a good gravy for the potatoes! This was a good "comfort" meal. My husband had 3 plates of it. My 3 year old even ate a little. No leftovers! We'll definitely have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
very very good comfort food. Following advice I saw in several places, I did marinade the pork for 6 hours in 1 c apple juice, 2 T soy sauce. I did brown the pork first, then cooked the apples in the frying pan I'd cooked the pork in. I used the leftover marinade as part of the sauce--doubled the sauce too. Then poured it all over the chops, cooked for about 45 minutes in the oven. At the end I pulled out the pork and added corn starch mixed with sherry to the pan and cooked a little longer until it thickened. I also made mashed potatoes and put the sauce over the potatoes. It was fabulous. Wonderful meal. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jj_howell27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntley, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States