Sherry Apple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Very yummy. I followed some of the other reviews and marinated the chops in 1/2 c. sherry, 1/2 c. apple juice, and splashed in some soy sauce as well. I think the sherry was well balanced this way. Definitely consider the thickness of your chops when baking. Mine were done in half the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesaning, Michigan, USA
Living In: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I followed this recipe to the letter and even used extra thick pork chops...but must admit it was rather bland and the pork chops were a bit dry after one hour. I would cook less time and I think the sauce needs some zing---perhaps lemon juice or perhaps the sauce should be reduced so it is sweeter and has more sherry taste. My family ate this without complaints but no rave reviews either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Very different and unique recipe! It was good but I don't think I could eat it very often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JKL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Middletown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Awesome recipe. You deserve a blue ribbon for this one. I have made this for many guests and they all cannot believe how fabulous and wonderful the taste is. Hats off to you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Noe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wallkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
this was a very good and easy pork chop recipe. The pork stayed very moist. the only thing I changed was I put a layer of apples on top as well as bottom. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
This is awesome!!! My wife absolutely loved it. I did thicken it with corn starch and water after removing the chops. I also put the chops in the baking dish first, and then covered them with the apples. they came out super tender. no need for a knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eldon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Wow. This was AMAZING. I browned my pork chops on low and gave them a little longer in the pan so they wouldn't be tough. They turned out really tender. I also did the 2 tablespoons of corn starch and 1/4 cup of sherry at the end, and I think that really made a difference; the sauce was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Very good recipe but I found that the cut of porkchop may make a difference. A butterfly pork chop was a little on the dry side. Perhaps a little less cooking time would help too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I made this recipe last night and my husband raved about it. I only cooked 2 thick pork chops; but, used the ingredients for the full recipe. I too added some sherry with cornstarch at the end, the sauce looked thin. I also added about 1/2 c. pecans, this added a nice flavor. Next time that I make this recipe I will probably add more cinnamon and possibly a little nutmeg. I thought it was very good; but, missing a little something. Oh, I browned the chops in a little butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Made the recipe exactly as written - we liked it a lot and even our three-year-old ate an entire pork chop, so it gets thumbs up from the whole family. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States