Sherry Apple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Really yummy! Have made this twice now in the last 2 weeks. Only thing I would do differently is to add a couple teaspoons of cornstarch to the sherry. Would be so much nicer to have a thicker sauce rather than the very thin one I get with the true recipe. Aside from that, cannot ever complain about apples and pork chops. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terriyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I was disappointed with this recipe. The cooking time is much too long and the pork chops were very dry. The apples were okay but the liquid did not make any kind of sauce. And there just was not much flavor overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This recipe had potential however I was disappointed with the end result. I did follow the instructions. I also read all the reviews and reduced baking time to 30 minutes. My pork chops were an inch thick and were overdone. I would recommend a reduction in cooking time to 15 minutes. I also made a sauce as suggested with bacon, onion, butter and more sherry ( I couldn't taste the sherry in apples. We are use to having our pork done medium. Thanks for the recipe we will modify cooking time for next time. I served with Jamie's cranberry spinach salad (excellent) and rice stuffing with apples herbs and bacon from the all recipe website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This recipe makes very tasty pork chops. I made it last night and was very happy with how it came out. I only made three pork chops but kept the recipe for the sauce the same and came out with a good amount of sauce. So I think if someone was making six pork chops they would have to near double the sauce. I highly recommend using Granny Smith apples - I have found those are the best apples to cook with. Just a couple of modifications after reading reviews: (1) I did marinate the pork for two hours in a cup of apple juice and two tablespoons of reduced sodium soy sauce; (2) I reduced the sugar just a a touch maybe to about three tablespoons; (3) I peppered and salted the pork chops prior to browning them and I'm glad I did - I recommend doing that; (4) I put the pork chops on the bottom of the baking dish. I also recommend that you check the pork chops every fifteen minutes to push the apple slices that are getting brown to the bottom of the dish to keep them from burning. Delicious delicious flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
These were absolutely delicous! I would have given this 5 stars if it weren't for the fact that the stated cook time is WAY too long, despite using extra extra thick chops. I think 40 minutes would have been perfect. I doubled the sugar, cinnamon and butter. The last 10 minutes I added another 1/4 cup of sherry mixed with 2 T cornstarch to thicken the sauce. It was magnificent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
THANK YOU CHRISTY FOR THE WONDERFUL RECIPE. I DID NOT HAVE SHERRY ON HAND, SO SUBSTITUTED 1/2 CAN APPLE JUICE CONCENTRATE WITH A LITTLE BRANDY MIXED IN. WE ALL JUST LOVED IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
the sauce was very runny, and would of been better if I had drained it out and added cornstarch to make a gravy. will try this next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isaac Hewitt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mound, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This was very good! The apples went perfect with the sherry. I will make this again. Great compliment to pork.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gorham, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This was a great recfipe, only thing I would recommend is cooking the the chops for about 10-15 mins less time, otherwise they will be dry and tough. Other wise a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Very yummy. I followed some of the other reviews and marinated the chops in 1/2 c. sherry, 1/2 c. apple juice, and splashed in some soy sauce as well. I think the sherry was well balanced this way. Definitely consider the thickness of your chops when baking. Mine were done in half the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesaning, Michigan, USA
Living In: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States