Sherry Apple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Put everything in crockpot for 6 hrs - It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Villa Hills, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
DELICIOUS!! I made this last night doubling the sauce. I used bone-in, 1” thick chops. First I seasoned the chops with garlic salt and pepper, then browned the chops in an oven-proof skillet, added the apples on top (also threw in some dried cranberries), sprinkled with brown sugar and cinnamon, dotted with butter and poured the sherry over all. Covered and baked for 25 minutes. I removed my skillet from the oven, removed the chops and kept them warm, while I thickened the sauce on the cook top with 1 T. of cornstarch and a little water (which made my sauce plenty thick enough). I plated the chops and spooned the sauce over top. My only issue with this recipe is the cooking time of one hour! Way too long, IMHO! Perhaps that’s a personal preference, but even my 25 minutes was a bit too long! Adjust the cooking time and you’ve got a winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This is a wonderful meal!! I made last night- Tweaked just a little- Double the brown sugar, cinnamon and butter. Brown the pork chops and salt and pepper them both sides. Baking time -shorten to 35 minutes. In the last 10 minutes remove cover or foil keep chops warm add 1/4 cup sherry mixed with 2 Tblsp of cornstarch to thicken the juices into a gravy, stir well but gently.Add chops back on top of apples and finish baking last 10 minutes. Enjoy juicy tasty pork chops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Divine!!!!! So good. I didn't want the sherry to be too strong tasting for my 2 year old, so I used half sherry and half apple cider. I also added sage to the pork chops and used white pepper instead of black pepper. I don't think the butter was necessary, although I did add it. So delicious. I will be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
followed recipe to a tee--but the temp inside pork never reached 160 (125...), so we stuck it back in, and it still didn't get that hot, but was clearly cooked through. Ended up being rather dry...BUT, eating a bite of apple with each bite of pork made up for that issue easily. Quite tasty! Will do it again, following marinating advice from previous reviewers. We served with grilled Vidalia onions, BTW, and that was a nice combination with a cold beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisandreasings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I made this for dinner last night, and it was delicious. The only change I made was to use white wine instead of sherry, just because that is what I had. I also drained off some of the juices and used cornstarch to make a sauce for it. Everyone loved it, but I am a big fan of pork with apples, so I loved it most of all. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaDAdams

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Absolutely Delicious! and sooo easy... Just a few adjustments per the reviews and it's a keeper: (1)Add a mixture of 1/4 cup sherry and 2T cornstarch during the last 10 mins ( remove the chops to a warm plate and stir into the apple mixture) and then (2) don't cook quite as long - 35 mins is plenty. I used 4 boneless chops, 2 granny smith apples (nice and tart with the sweet brown sugar) and kept the recipe from there on. I might try it in the future by cooking the sauce in a skillet then preparing the chops separately to maintain the seared crust on the chops. Other than than - kudos for this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neesie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
This was a really great recipe. After reading the other reviews though I would add more apples because they are a wonderful treat. They can be used as a desert with the meal also. I also found the sauce to thin after baking the pork chops and added cornstarch to the sauce and apples. Next time I might branch out and added different kinds of fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Missing that WOW factor I was expecting! More a 3 1/2 star dish!I suggest salt and peppering the chops then searing them over high heat. This allows the flavor to be sealed. I used Granny Smith apples which were way too tart for this dish. My pork chops were very dry, an hour was too long. My apples were mushy and there was too much liquid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I modified it a little too. I added 1/4 cup of golden raisins, 1/2 can of ginger ale, 1/3 cup of marsala wine since I didn't have sherry or apple juice and 2 tbls corn starch 10 min before it was ready to thicken the sauce. It was delicious! My hubby went for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BunnyMomma

Displaying results 101-110 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States