Sherry Apple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This is a wonderful meal!! I made last night- Tweaked just a little- Double the brown sugar, cinnamon and butter. Brown the pork chops and salt and pepper them both sides. Baking time -shorten to 35 minutes. In the last 10 minutes remove cover or foil keep chops warm add 1/4 cup sherry mixed with 2 Tblsp of cornstarch to thicken the juices into a gravy, stir well but gently.Add chops back on top of apples and finish baking last 10 minutes. Enjoy juicy tasty pork chops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Divine!!!!! So good. I didn't want the sherry to be too strong tasting for my 2 year old, so I used half sherry and half apple cider. I also added sage to the pork chops and used white pepper instead of black pepper. I don't think the butter was necessary, although I did add it. So delicious. I will be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
followed recipe to a tee--but the temp inside pork never reached 160 (125...), so we stuck it back in, and it still didn't get that hot, but was clearly cooked through. Ended up being rather dry...BUT, eating a bite of apple with each bite of pork made up for that issue easily. Quite tasty! Will do it again, following marinating advice from previous reviewers. We served with grilled Vidalia onions, BTW, and that was a nice combination with a cold beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisandreasings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I made this for dinner last night, and it was delicious. The only change I made was to use white wine instead of sherry, just because that is what I had. I also drained off some of the juices and used cornstarch to make a sauce for it. Everyone loved it, but I am a big fan of pork with apples, so I loved it most of all. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaDAdams

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Absolutely Delicious! and sooo easy... Just a few adjustments per the reviews and it's a keeper: (1)Add a mixture of 1/4 cup sherry and 2T cornstarch during the last 10 mins ( remove the chops to a warm plate and stir into the apple mixture) and then (2) don't cook quite as long - 35 mins is plenty. I used 4 boneless chops, 2 granny smith apples (nice and tart with the sweet brown sugar) and kept the recipe from there on. I might try it in the future by cooking the sauce in a skillet then preparing the chops separately to maintain the seared crust on the chops. Other than than - kudos for this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by neesie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
This was a really great recipe. After reading the other reviews though I would add more apples because they are a wonderful treat. They can be used as a desert with the meal also. I also found the sauce to thin after baking the pork chops and added cornstarch to the sauce and apples. Next time I might branch out and added different kinds of fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Missing that WOW factor I was expecting! More a 3 1/2 star dish!I suggest salt and peppering the chops then searing them over high heat. This allows the flavor to be sealed. I used Granny Smith apples which were way too tart for this dish. My pork chops were very dry, an hour was too long. My apples were mushy and there was too much liquid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I modified it a little too. I added 1/4 cup of golden raisins, 1/2 can of ginger ale, 1/3 cup of marsala wine since I didn't have sherry or apple juice and 2 tbls corn starch 10 min before it was ready to thicken the sauce. It was delicious! My hubby went for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BunnyMomma
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I wasn't too crazy about these. The pork was cooked perfectly, but the sauce seemed a little bland and still really thin, even after doing the extra sherry/corn starch trick 10 mins before done like another reviewer said. While it wasn't awful, I don't think I will be keeping this one in my box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I made this last night. I took one tip from the reviews and I marinaded them in apple juice first. Other than that I followed the recipe and they came out fantastic. We loved them. Yeah, next time I may add a little more salt and tweak to my families taste but this recipe is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States