Sherry Apple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I didn't have the sherry but my hubby and I thought this was a do again recipe. I made it only for two and it turned out great. Very easy. It took longer to thaw out the chops than it did to make it. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
These were really tasty. Apples and pork chops go real good together. And the sherry made it wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This is a decent recipe. There is nothing spectacular about it. You taste all the ingredients, apples, brown sugar and cinnamon along with a bit of sherry taste, but it is a bit too liquid even with the added cornstarch someone suggested. Will pass on this after trying it tonight. I have a feeling that similar ingredients cooked differently might taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Delicious! I only cooked the pork chops for about 40 minutes (instead of an hour) and I probably could have cooked it for less time since they were a little too well done. I also took the apples and juice out of the pan after I baked the chops, poured it into a saucepan, added a little spoonful of brown sugar and flour, and cooked the mixture for a few minutes over the stove just to make the apples softer and the sauce thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS. I followed Gina B. Cookin's advice and doubled the butter, brown sugar and cinnamon, which I combined together and dropped in clumps onto four sliced apples which were cut onto the bottom of my baking dish (I also sprinkled dried cranberries on top of the apples, about 1/2 cup). I browned my pork chops in coconut oil and sprinkled s&p on them,then placed them on top of the apples & cranberries and brown sugar mixture. I poured the sherry over all, covered and baked for 45 minutes. Then I removed the foil and broiled on high for 10 minutes. I combined a little more than 1/4 cup of sherry with 2 T cornstarch and poured it here and there in the sauce in the pan and stirred to thicken the sauce. The apples were not mushy and there was a good amount of sauce which I also used to top mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MET88

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
It was too sweet for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
on my second cooking of this meal I used a bit more sugar and deglazed the skillet with sherry I seared the chops in and poured that over the chops and apples and also a pinch all spice kind of added a bit more zing to the flavor and a nice under taste But this was a great recipe thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This rocks! I did add my own touch, which is why I will give it 4 stars... first, I seasoned the chops very well with salt and pepper. I seared them until good and brown in EVOO/butter. Then I tossed in the apples and some thinly sliced onion. I sprinkled the brown sugar and cinnamon on top and splashed the sherry over the whole thing. A little extra pinch of salt and pepper and I covered this and let it all simmer on the stove top, about 15 more min. At the very end, I added a little corn starch slurry to thicken the juices. My hubby and I devoured our chops and were picking at the remaining apples that were left in the pan... perfectly sweet and savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rockerchic821

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I made this last night and it was great! I don't usually like cooked apples, but this was superb. I did add some apple sauce and served it over quinoa. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Overall it was ok but not something I plan on making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States