Sherry and Brie Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
This soup is AMAZING! We omitted the mushrooms because I dont like them. I also put the sherry in with the brie to let them marinate and melt together. Once the veggies were al dente, we pureed everything together. I forgot to put the cream in and the soup didn't need it, so try it before you add the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
this one is heaven in a bowl. it is now on the menu forever, a guest of mine asked that I never run out of this. I cook the vegetables in the broth and strain them out at the thickening stage. less chancce of splashing or lumpiness. chef Cherie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Followed the recipe to a tee and got a bland train wreck of odious consistency. Maybe we messed this up somewhere along the line that I'm not seeing, but it was awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Simple and delicious. I used 1 carrot, 2 stalks of celery, and half an onion in this recipe. Also used a 1:1 ratio for the chicken broth and skim milk (substituted for the heavy cream). I poured this in the blender and lightly pureed it. Voila! Topped with green onions. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
10 Stars!!! Loved this soup! I made this more of a mushroom brie soup by using just over a pound of sliced mushrooms and I sauteed them in marsala (substitute for sherry) and butter along with diced carrots with the lid on to keep all the juice. Added the whole mix to the broth after I strained it - OMG, the BEST mushroom soup I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZELDA3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelleys Island, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
OK, I made a few changes to this recipe to meet my family's preferences. I appreciate the recipe and that's why I'm giving it five stars. I had a large wheel of Brie to use and this took care of half of it and my kids ate the soup, asking for more!!! I changed the veggies to 1/2 leek, sliced thinly, and about 1/2 cup chopped carrots, and added them at the beginning with the butter. I therefore didn't really do the roux, but did let the flour brown slightly. I probably had at least 16 oz of Brie, maybe a few ounces more, and trimmed off all of the end and most of the rind on the top and bottom-I left some as I like the flavor. This was a yummy soup our family enjoyed as a main course with rolls-thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
This is a soup that suffers with an identity crisis. It didn't bowl me over but it also was far from spectacular. It wants to be a vegetable soup but appears to taste like a cream of chicken. Very disappointed with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
A definite 5 star!!! This is such a delicious and impressive soup. I served it for friends in individual bread bowls and everyone LOVED it! Seconds were had by all and they could have ate more if I had made more! Next time I make this, which will be soon, I will cut back on the brie, add more mushrooms and use the lowest sodium broth I can find. It was a bit too salty for my taste. However, don't let that put you off. It is a scrumptious must try!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2001
This soup sounded so divine, I had to give it a try. At the dinner, everyone enjoyed it so much, they all asked for seconds and didn't save room for the main course. Definitely deserves 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States