Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
I gave this recipe 4 stars because I changed it a little. I used 2 jars of Heinz canned chicken gravy. (it's low fat and lower sodium than soup) I used sauteed fresh mushrooms and also added 3 cloves of garlic to the ground beef while cooking. I used frozen veggies since I think canned ones are really gross! It was really good with some cheese sprinkled on top of the potatoes the last 15 minutes of baking. My husband has requested that I make this once a week! Thanks for the great recipe - even though I tweeked it a bit - I hardly ever stick to an original recipe, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
255 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buggymom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Like so many other reviewers, I changed this a bit. I used 7 potatoes, boiled them for 15 minutes, then mashed in about 3 TBS Country Crock spread and a few TBS milk. For the filling, I used the ground beef, 2 stalks of celery (chopped), half a small onion (diced), a 15-oz can of kernal corn, a can of 'shrooms, and a couple handfuls of frozen peas. I omitted the celery soup. I did use a can of mushroom soup, plus a splash or three of milk and a few TBS of sour cream. Yum! As recommended by MLTS, I decided to do potatoes on the bottom, then filling, then potatoes on top. Oh, I also used an 8" square pan for a thick pie, and it was almost overflowing - in fact, I put foil under it in the oven because the filling started to ooze around the potatoes! Very tasty! Thanks for sharing, Sue! Maybe this will convince my husband that Shepherd's Pie isn't horrible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
Excellent! This is the only way I can get my toddler to eat vegetables. Here are some changes I thought made it even better, though: (I used instant mashed potatoes to save time) I started with a layer of mashed potatoes on the bottom, then a layer of shredded cheddar cheese (1 to 2 cups), then the meat/vegetable layer, then the next layer of mashed potatoes, dotted with butter, and finished it off with crunchy fried onions. Cooked an extra 10-15 mins because of extra potatoes. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Best shepherd's pie ever! Only thing I did differently was I added a packet of Lipton onion soup, 1 beef boullion cube and 1 cup of water to the beef. I think it made the taste of the beef stand out a little more. I let it simmer for about 5 minutes until all the liquid was absorbed then added frozen mixed veggies and the soups. I also topped it off with an italian blend of shredded cheese the last 15 minutes of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
THANK YOU, THANK YOU FOR THIS RECIPE!! My whole family loved it. I did follow some of the advice from others and doubled the mashed potatoes. Also, to help give it more gravy, I used chunky vegetable soup instead of mixed vegetables - and I also added a can of whole kernel corn. I will use this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2001
Drain the liquid off the veggies!! Of course I couldn't JUST do the recipe... I added about 2tb of worcestershire sauce and 2 cloves of crushed garlic to the meat. To the potatoes (Dan Quale WAS correct) I left the peels, added milk, 1/2 stick of butter, 2 cloves of roasted garlic, and 1/2 -1/3 cup of Tillamook medium cheddar cheese (grated). Whipped untill creamy. WOW- it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul WIDMARK
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
Don't waste your time with this one; I thought it sounded bland -- added Worcestershire, rosemary, Montreal steak seasoning, shredded Cheddar cheese, & parsley flakes. Leftovers went from the fridge to the trash can. Sorry about the brutal review, but honesty is the best policy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ankeny, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I like to make this with a jar of mushroom gravy instead of the cream of mushroom soup. It makes a more traditional shepherd's pie and I think adds more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
When browning the beef I added a clove minced garlic also a tablespoon dried minced onion and a little seasoning salt. In my mashed potates I added a mixture of two cubes chicken boulion in 1/4 cup water (boiling) and let dissolve I also added an egg and a little milk and garlic, minced onion and a dash of seasoning salt. I topped with Chedder and sprinkled paprika on top of the cheese. It tasted absolutely amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELSTAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JANICER8
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I don't know why people rate recipes either high or low when they have altered the recipe, added ingredients and even water... and complain that it's not right or soupy. I fixed this recipe pretty much as is except I had more hamburger so I added one more can of Cream of Mushroom soup and a few more potatoes for the top. My husband and I really enjoyed this meal. This is a great recipe, thanks STP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANICER8

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Westminster, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States