Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Great recipe, I did cheat a bit and used powder potatoes as a substitue and it still turned out great. I think next time I'll just stick with the mushrooms and mushroom soup, didn't quite love the celery soup taste. Will definitely be making this again, great for leftovers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Made this tonight for the first time. I did make a few adjustments based on some of the reviews I read (substituted beef gravy for the soups). I also sauteed an onion prior to browning the meet. It was DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrmike413
Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Didn't have cream of celery so used cream of chicken. I did have to add a good bit of salt and pepper, and cooked my "meat" (vegetarian) in some onions and garlic for more flavor. Used frozen veggies too. With a little added spice this was a 5-star, but as is it was a bit too bland so I went with 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Simple recipe with great flavor. I have been making this recipe for several years now and my husband and son ask for it on a regular basis. Sometimes I just use leftover veggies from the frige rather than the can of mixed veggies. Still turns out great. I also like to put cheddar cheese on top but by judging from the pic's that are posted, so do alot of people. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
My family and I LOVED this recipe. I did drain the can of vegetables and added a beef bouillon and a pack of Lipton Onion Soup mix as another review suggested. Also used 8 potatoes. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Had to substitute for what I had in the house, and I knew I would. With six inches of fresh snow I was looking for some thing that wouldn't make me go to the store for one or two ingredients.You cn't call yourself a cook if you don't put your own touch to it! Now if we just had a recipe for Coca Cola! This will become a standby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Mmmm, we liked this! I used frozen mixed veggies and fresh mushrooms and omitted the butter on top, but followed the recipe other than that. It actually is pretty healthy if you use healthy selection soups, omit the butter and use 93% fat ground beef. As for spices, I sauteed some garlic and minced onion with the ground beef and added some more garlic and onion powder after I mixed the veggies together. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JANICER8
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I don't know why people rate recipes either high or low when they have altered the recipe, added ingredients and even water... and complain that it's not right or soupy. I fixed this recipe pretty much as is except I had more hamburger so I added one more can of Cream of Mushroom soup and a few more potatoes for the top. My husband and I really enjoyed this meal. This is a great recipe, thanks STP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANICER8

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Westminster, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Bland, but maybe that's how it's supposed to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Yummy.. I added carrots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States