Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Best Shepherd's Pie ever. We substituted the canned veggies with a pack of bird's eye frozen, and then added extra frozen corn. We also added a pack of onion soup mix. We'll definitely b making this again!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ash

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I have used this as a basic recipe more times than I care to mention. It's fantastic! But I am an experimental cook. I love trying new flavors and new concepts. So here's my recommendation: start with the basic recipe first. Really. Try it just the way it is written. Then make modifications as you wish. I have added Worcestershire sauce to the meat and it was great. I have swapped out the soups for premixed gravy and that was awesome. I have put cheese on top and crust on the bottom to make it pot pie-ish. This last time I used a can of tomato paste with gravy mix. It always comes out delicious. But the recipe, as written, will not fail you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
VERY GOOD! Everyone loved this hearty meal! I didn't have mushrooms so I used an onion, used a can of peas and carrots instead of mixed veggies, and instant Butter & Herb mashed potatoes to save me some time. I will certainly be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lunastar1311

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Used a whole package of fresh mushrooms and green onions ~ delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by buzzbobby
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This is a new St Patty's day tradition ! It was great , added mushrooms and onions wile browning the meat and sprinkled cheddar cheese before adding potatoes ! Perfecto
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Simple and tasty. I used pre-made mashed potatoes the second time, and it was still good. But I must warn you that it added a lot more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This was fantastic! The only thing I changes was adding mixed veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OpalSparks

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
very good flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
As is, its a good foundation recipe. The first time I made it, it lacked the flavor I was hoping for so I improvised the second time. It was very flavorful with the following alterations; After draining the fat from the (2 LB) ground beef, saute 1/2 yellow onion diced, 2 diced celery stalks and 1 large minced clove of garlic. Mix together the soups, beef, saute and vegetables. Slice 8 oz FRESH mushrooms and 3 pats of butter to the bottom of the baking dish and bake about 5 minuted before adding the remaining ingredients. When mashing your potatoes, use milk & 2 Tbs butter instead of the water. A few minutes before removing from the oven, change the temperature to BROIL to brown the top of the potatoes. ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States