Shepherd's Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Doug Matthews
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
We normally use beef in our Sheperd's Pie but this time we used BUTTERBALL GROUND TURKEY and the results were great. Really went well with the sweetness of the carrots and my wife & I appreciated the lower calories & health benefits of using BUTTERBALL GROUND TURKEY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Somewhat bland, too many potatoes for the amount of meat mixture. Definitely a good jumping off point, though. I added peas to mine and it definitely needed some SALT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
OH MY GOSH!!! This was SO GOOD! We recently ate at a very popular highly recommended Irish pub and my husband had ordered this. It was so good that we wanted to make it again. Found this recipe and did what the others said...used some frozen carrots and peas instead...and just threw them on there...no mashing. Also used a package of brown gravy mixed in one cup of water. Everything else the same. FANTASTIC!!!! MUCH better than the Irish pub even! My Irish mom is requesting the recipe! :) Will be making more of this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Love this recipe it's one of my recipes I make frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
I have tried this wonderful recipe many times but I too add corn to the meat mix. To add an extra delight,I coated the topping with cornbread mix. Jiffy brand will do and it cuts into easy squares while the pie itself remains moist and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
My husband really likes this version of Shepherd's pie, especially when I add a packet of brown gravy to the hamburger BUT as you can tell from my rating--it's not my fav. I prefer the American Shepherd's Pie recipe on this site and I substitute the veggie soup for canned tomato sauce or tomato soup, I also add some bullion and more veggies. I just really like the tomato flavor with this dish--even if it isn't as authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOULEC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Add 1/4 c of worc. Sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dani_jbaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I made this for my family thinking they would really like it - cheese, mashed potatoes and beef. How can you go wrong? Apparently you can. My husband didn't even get past the second bite. It was too bland. If I were to make this again, I'd take the others suggestions and add worchershire sauce and maybe even the gravy. Adding mixed veggies instead of just carrots may be a good idea too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Liked it after I added more veggies. Interestingly, the picture clearly shows peas, but the recipe posted includes no peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyons, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lonnzo79
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Made this a while back and it was fantastic. Modifications I made are I added peas, corn, and green beans. I also used 80/20 Ground Chuck, cooked it separately part of the way to get rid of some of the fat. Turned out awesome, my wife loved it, freezes well also since the potatoes seal everything in. The extra Veggies give it some added flavor and color, I really like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,728) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States