Shepherd's Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I added Penzey's adobo to the meat and veggies, as well as subbing in Lea and Perrins Thick Classic Bold Steak Sauce and Sriracha for the ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quincy, Washington, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Great dish! Cook often at firehouse, they love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Fantastic recipe. Who cares that it's not traditional Shepherds pie. I like it. I did however make a few changes and additions. I followed the recipe but added two large cloves of garlic when I sauteed the onions. I used vegetable stock instead of beef. I added an extra 1/4 cup of water and sprinkled extra flour to thicken the gravy. a few splashes of Worcestershire sauce is a must. I did mash the carrots but they ended up being chunky ( tasted great ) and added some frozen peas to the veg layer. It was a family hit. I saved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaB6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Made this tonight as I wanted to get rid of some leftover mashed potatoes, and was pleased with the result. Of course, I've never had shepherd's pie before, so I have no reference point lol. Per Erin0220, I used 2 T each of flour & ketchup, 1/4 cup Worcestershire sauce, packet of turkey gravy (did not have brown gravy) & 1 cup water. Will def make again. Thanks to OP and other reviewers for contributing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cheshire, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Turned out fantastic...I put the worcestershire sauce in with the beef...made a difference while it was cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Delicious! I added more and different veggies but the dish was fantastic. Everyone wolfed it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magbelieves

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
This is a very good recipe for Shepherd's Pie! My son loved it! I only made a few small changes. I put chopped green onions in my mashed potatoes, I used tomato paste instead of ketchup, and I used 1 1/2 cups of broth,corn and thyme to the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
it's good, though nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valeria

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Loved this recipe! It is economical, satisfying and perfect for a cool fall evening. On the recommendations of others, I made a few slight changes. I diced and boiled the carrots, but didn't mash them afterwards. I added 3 tbsp of Worcestershire sauce to the hamburger before cooking and used 2 tbsp of ketchup. Finally, I sprinkled paprika on the completed dish before baking. Other than that, I followed the recipe and it was superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Very quick to make and so much Flavor, I used 1.25 pounds 80/20 ground chuck and added 1/4 cup of Worcestershire sauce to the meat before browning, 2 slices of a large sweet onion chopped.seasoned the beef with salt,pepper,Garlic salt from grinder, and steak seasoning grinder from Thompsons.I did Not drain the beef. Use the appropriate amount for your taste. My garlic salt grinder is 2/3 granulated garlic and 1/3 sea salt so it's mostly garlic. I also substituted a aldi brown gravy packet and 1/2 cup of water for the beef broth at the stage of adding the flour to the beef. I substituted 4oz each frozen pees and carrots to the top of the beef mixture, I had to chop crinkle cut carrots because I couldn't find pea and carrot frozen combo. Family loved it and it was very savory : )I did finish the top of the potatoes with 2 tablespoons of melted butter and sprinkled with paprika for color before baking. there wasn't gravy in the bottom of the casserole pan but it was very moist and plated like lasagna 2 cents please : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,736) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States