Shepherd's Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I have been looking for a recipe for Shepherds Pie and I like this one. However, I made some adjustments as with any recipe. I use potatoes and mash them like I would for homemade mashed potatoes. I add cream cheese. I use ground turkey instead of ground beef and add my special blend of dry seasoning while it is cooking. Also, I add bell pepper and onions to my ground turkey with some fresh garlic. For my veggies I use frozen mixed veggies. Of course all topped with extra sharp cheddar. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VIpassion99

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This was OK for a typical family dinner. I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Honey Clover
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Yum yum. I used ground turkey instead of beef but kept everything else almost the same. Looking at the recipe, I thought it would be a bit plain so I added extra peas and corn and also mixed up a special sauce of my own for the beef which included tomato sauce, ketchup, mustard, flour, vinegar, soy sauce, garlic powder, sugar, and also a bit of a curry roux. It was absolutely amazing!! The mashed potato was very delicious too however, I must have used HUGE potatoes or something because the ratio of meat to potato was a bit off; there wasn't a lot of meat to complement the large amount of mashed potato on top. Next time, I will buy more meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honey Clover

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I added Penzey's adobo to the meat and veggies, as well as subbing in Lea and Perrins Thick Classic Bold Steak Sauce and Sriracha for the ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quincy, Washington, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Great dish! Cook often at firehouse, they love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Fantastic recipe. Who cares that it's not traditional Shepherds pie. I like it. I did however make a few changes and additions. I followed the recipe but added two large cloves of garlic when I sauteed the onions. I used vegetable stock instead of beef. I added an extra 1/4 cup of water and sprinkled extra flour to thicken the gravy. a few splashes of Worcestershire sauce is a must. I did mash the carrots but they ended up being chunky ( tasted great ) and added some frozen peas to the veg layer. It was a family hit. I saved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaB6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Made this tonight as I wanted to get rid of some leftover mashed potatoes, and was pleased with the result. Of course, I've never had shepherd's pie before, so I have no reference point lol. Per Erin0220, I used 2 T each of flour & ketchup, 1/4 cup Worcestershire sauce, packet of turkey gravy (did not have brown gravy) & 1 cup water. Will def make again. Thanks to OP and other reviewers for contributing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cheshire, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Turned out fantastic...I put the worcestershire sauce in with the beef...made a difference while it was cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Delicious! I added more and different veggies but the dish was fantastic. Everyone wolfed it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magbelieves

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
This is a very good recipe for Shepherd's Pie! My son loved it! I only made a few small changes. I put chopped green onions in my mashed potatoes, I used tomato paste instead of ketchup, and I used 1 1/2 cups of broth,corn and thyme to the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,729) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States