Shepherd's Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
The potatoes were too dry...they needed some milk. This also needed some more seasoning. The potato to beef ratio was also off. There was A LOT of potatoes, with not enough beef. This was just OK. I will likely not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Really good yummy, save time cook the onions with the ground beef (I added a small can of mushrooms) one teaspoon beef bouillon with the flour to the beef also 11/2 teap. Wish. Sauce. I also stirred in a cup of green beans to meat. Layer of carrots and mashed potatoes as usual topped with extra sharp cheddar. It was absolutely delightful. Just as good as I have ever eaten. On my favorite list perminate now. Thanks a lot easy quick and oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phil N

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This was great! Everyone loved it and that's not an easy feat in our house! I especially enjoyed the addition of the mashed carrots as I don't care for the usual mixed veggies in my Shepherd's Pie. The only changes I made was to omit the onions (we don't like them) and I didn't have beef bouillon so I used a can of beef gravy instead and omitted the flour as well. Hearty and delicious. This will become a stable in our house. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Made this for a Thanksgiving potluck. My casserole dish was scraped clean by the end of the night. Followed some other reviewers recommendations and used brown gravy instead of beef broth, and threw some Worcestershire in with the ground beef when it was cooking. Also used a mixed frozen veggie pack in place of mashed carrots. Everyone really enjoyed this and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smarsten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
and the mashed carrots make it special! Try using carrot and turnip mashed together delicious??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I am a hunter and used ground deer "burger" instead of ground beef. I changed only a few little things; I added some herbs and more salt and pepper and a little bit of hot sauce (Our family loves spicy food) Overall, it is one of the best shepherds pie's i have ever made! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Perfect Shepherd's pie recipe. Have been making for years now. So much flavor. followed directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I have been making this recipe for many years..My ground been is browned with onions and mushrooms than after its been drained i add a can of Cream of Mushroom with a little milk. My veggies are a combination of Lima Beans & 1 can or frozen corn.. Love the shoepeg white corn flavored with a little butter , salt & pepper. Next layer is with My homemade mashed Potatoes. Last layer is grated medium sharp chedder cheese sprinkle a little paprika and bake for an hour. So Yummy even better the next day Michelle Fierro
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Holy Cow! I have never made a Shepherds Pie in my life but followed your lead and ended up with a great meal! Used ground deer "burger" and otherwise did everything the same. We ate, and ate, and ate! Can't wait for the leftovers tomorrow. Even though it wasn't ground beef I still think it's five star... Thank you for a super recipe Jacquie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Huge hit at the swinger's party. I did add green beans and corn to the meat with a layer of smashed carrots on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,804) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States