Shepherd's Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
and the mashed carrots make it special! Try using carrot and turnip mashed together delicious??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I am a hunter and used ground deer "burger" instead of ground beef. I changed only a few little things; I added some herbs and more salt and pepper and a little bit of hot sauce (Our family loves spicy food) Overall, it is one of the best shepherds pie's i have ever made! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Perfect Shepherd's pie recipe. Have been making for years now. So much flavor. followed directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I have been making this recipe for many years..My ground been is browned with onions and mushrooms than after its been drained i add a can of Cream of Mushroom with a little milk. My veggies are a combination of Lima Beans & 1 can or frozen corn.. Love the shoepeg white corn flavored with a little butter , salt & pepper. Next layer is with My homemade mashed Potatoes. Last layer is grated medium sharp chedder cheese sprinkle a little paprika and bake for an hour. So Yummy even better the next day Michelle Fierro
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Holy Cow! I have never made a Shepherds Pie in my life but followed your lead and ended up with a great meal! Used ground deer "burger" and otherwise did everything the same. We ate, and ate, and ate! Can't wait for the leftovers tomorrow. Even though it wasn't ground beef I still think it's five star... Thank you for a super recipe Jacquie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Huge hit at the swinger's party. I did add green beans and corn to the meat with a layer of smashed carrots on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
husband loved it! Like others I added A LOT of seasoning to the meat incl 1/4 c worcheshire. Also added double butter to potatoes and 8 oz sour cream. Cooked for 30 min. Hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laila
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Brilliant recipe! I modified the recipe due to ingredient availability and taste preference. I browned about one and a half cup of coarsely chopped onion, then added a 1/2 lb mixture of half lean ground turkey (99% FF) and half lean ground beef (94% FF) (along with the called for ketchup, salt, pepper) - to which I had added worcestershire sauce (est 1/4 cup), a bit of red cooking wine (est 2 tbsp), 3 pressed garlic cloves, bit of red pepper flakes (est 1/8 tsp), herbs de provence, and garlic powder. After the meat had cooked, I then added about half a packet of brown gravy/water (per packet instructions). I simmered the gravy/meat mix until the sauce began to thicken, at which time I added steamed peas. Then I layered into a glass dish and topped with mashed potatoes (I was short on time, so I used quickly-made garlic mashed potatoes with a bit of thinly sliced onions). I topped with fat-free mozzarella cheese and baked for about 15 minutes. In my rendition of this recipe, I omitted the flour (the gravy did the thickening), carrots (didn't have any), homemade mashed potatoes (quick-fix), broth (substituted gravy), and cheddar cheese (used mozzarella). I added red cooking wine, worcestershire sauce, fresh pressed garlic, and lots of assorted spices. Next time, I may use a smidge less worcestershire sauce & Herbs de Provence and bit more wine. I found the recipe to be very forgiving, as I didn't measure most of my ingredients as I tossed them in. Turned out fabulously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laila

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I had every intention of following the recipe exactly. However, I started scrolling through the reviews and strayed. It was a good stray though. I added the brown gravy packet to the meat along w/a cup of water. And, I eliminated the onions from the mashed potatoes. The family loved it. I would normally go back and try it as written. But this recipe is so easy to personalize, I may even incorporate some ideas of my own. I thought about adding some of the Lipton's Beefy Onion soup mix to the ground beef instead of beef broth and ketchup. Once again, I realize that this changes the game, however, making changes to suit your family's preference isn't a bad thing either. Loved this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
This was delicious! I added some fresh minced garlic and mushrooms to the onions. I also added just a small bit of BBQ sauce to the meat while it was cooking. Instead of just carrots, I used frozen mixed veggies. I absolutely love this though. We had company and everyone went back for more including my boyfriend who doesn't like mushrooms and onions! This was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haleyjo Elizabeth Hompstead

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,781) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States