Shepherd's Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
and the mashed carrots make it special! Try using carrot and turnip mashed together delicious??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I am a hunter and used ground deer "burger" instead of ground beef. I changed only a few little things; I added some herbs and more salt and pepper and a little bit of hot sauce (Our family loves spicy food) Overall, it is one of the best shepherds pie's i have ever made! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Perfect Shepherd's pie recipe. Have been making for years now. So much flavor. followed directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I have been making this recipe for many years..My ground been is browned with onions and mushrooms than after its been drained i add a can of Cream of Mushroom with a little milk. My veggies are a combination of Lima Beans & 1 can or frozen corn.. Love the shoepeg white corn flavored with a little butter , salt & pepper. Next layer is with My homemade mashed Potatoes. Last layer is grated medium sharp chedder cheese sprinkle a little paprika and bake for an hour. So Yummy even better the next day Michelle Fierro
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Holy Cow! I have never made a Shepherds Pie in my life but followed your lead and ended up with a great meal! Used ground deer "burger" and otherwise did everything the same. We ate, and ate, and ate! Can't wait for the leftovers tomorrow. Even though it wasn't ground beef I still think it's five star... Thank you for a super recipe Jacquie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Huge hit at the swinger's party. I did add green beans and corn to the meat with a layer of smashed carrots on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
husband loved it! Like others I added A LOT of seasoning to the meat incl 1/4 c worcheshire. Also added double butter to potatoes and 8 oz sour cream. Cooked for 30 min. Hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laila
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Brilliant recipe! I modified the recipe due to ingredient availability and taste preference. I browned about one and a half cup of coarsely chopped onion, then added a 1/2 lb mixture of half lean ground turkey (99% FF) and half lean ground beef (94% FF) (along with the called for ketchup, salt, pepper) - to which I had added worcestershire sauce (est 1/4 cup), a bit of red cooking wine (est 2 tbsp), 3 pressed garlic cloves, bit of red pepper flakes (est 1/8 tsp), herbs de provence, and garlic powder. After the meat had cooked, I then added about half a packet of brown gravy/water (per packet instructions). I simmered the gravy/meat mix until the sauce began to thicken, at which time I added steamed peas. Then I layered into a glass dish and topped with mashed potatoes (I was short on time, so I used quickly-made garlic mashed potatoes with a bit of thinly sliced onions). I topped with fat-free mozzarella cheese and baked for about 15 minutes. In my rendition of this recipe, I omitted the flour (the gravy did the thickening), carrots (didn't have any), homemade mashed potatoes (quick-fix), broth (substituted gravy), and cheddar cheese (used mozzarella). I added red cooking wine, worcestershire sauce, fresh pressed garlic, and lots of assorted spices. Next time, I may use a smidge less worcestershire sauce & Herbs de Provence and bit more wine. I found the recipe to be very forgiving, as I didn't measure most of my ingredients as I tossed them in. Turned out fabulously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laila

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I had every intention of following the recipe exactly. However, I started scrolling through the reviews and strayed. It was a good stray though. I added the brown gravy packet to the meat along w/a cup of water. And, I eliminated the onions from the mashed potatoes. The family loved it. I would normally go back and try it as written. But this recipe is so easy to personalize, I may even incorporate some ideas of my own. I thought about adding some of the Lipton's Beefy Onion soup mix to the ground beef instead of beef broth and ketchup. Once again, I realize that this changes the game, however, making changes to suit your family's preference isn't a bad thing either. Loved this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
This was delicious! I added some fresh minced garlic and mushrooms to the onions. I also added just a small bit of BBQ sauce to the meat while it was cooking. Instead of just carrots, I used frozen mixed veggies. I absolutely love this though. We had company and everyone went back for more including my boyfriend who doesn't like mushrooms and onions! This was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haleyjo Elizabeth Hompstead

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,761) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States