Shepherd's Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This is an excellent shepherd's pie. My husband, who claims not to like shepherd's pie, couldn't get enough of it, and my two young ones ate it well too. I had a bunch of leftover veggies, so I threw them all into the veg mixture: 1/2 onion (chopped), bunch of baby carrots (sliced), mushrooms (sliced), green onions (green and white parts, chopped fine). I also added approximately one cup frozen corn and let it cook with the other veggies. I then added 1 lb ground beef, 2 T ketchup, 2 T flour, 1/4 c worcestershire sauce, 1 packet of mushroom gravy mix, and 1.5 c water. Once everything was cooked and the sauce thickened, I poured into a greased pan, scooped the potatoes (I already had mashed potatoes leftover in the fridge), dotted with butter, sprinkled with shredded cheese (mixed), and ta-da! amazing pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This was so good!!! I used venison because that's what I had laying around, and added 3-4 cloves of garlic to the onions, and extra cheese on top. I also took some advice from another reviewer, which made this absolutely perfect: add 1/4 cup of Worcestershire to the meat, use a packet of gravy mix with 1 cup water instead of the beef broth, and add peas to the carrots (I left the carrots in small chunks instead of mashing). mmmmmmmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Added mixed veges, Worcester and garlic. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I added 1/2 can of peas and didn't mash carrots and a little more ketchup and butter in this recipe & it was fantastic!! Loved the meat flavoring!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
The potatoes were too dry...they needed some milk. This also needed some more seasoning. The potato to beef ratio was also off. There was A LOT of potatoes, with not enough beef. This was just OK. I will likely not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Really good yummy, save time cook the onions with the ground beef (I added a small can of mushrooms) one teaspoon beef bouillon with the flour to the beef also 11/2 teap. Wish. Sauce. I also stirred in a cup of green beans to meat. Layer of carrots and mashed potatoes as usual topped with extra sharp cheddar. It was absolutely delightful. Just as good as I have ever eaten. On my favorite list perminate now. Thanks a lot easy quick and oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phil N

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This was great! Everyone loved it and that's not an easy feat in our house! I especially enjoyed the addition of the mashed carrots as I don't care for the usual mixed veggies in my Shepherd's Pie. The only changes I made was to omit the onions (we don't like them) and I didn't have beef bouillon so I used a can of beef gravy instead and omitted the flour as well. Hearty and delicious. This will become a stable in our house. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Made this for a Thanksgiving potluck. My casserole dish was scraped clean by the end of the night. Followed some other reviewers recommendations and used brown gravy instead of beef broth, and threw some Worcestershire in with the ground beef when it was cooking. Also used a mixed frozen veggie pack in place of mashed carrots. Everyone really enjoyed this and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smarsten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
and the mashed carrots make it special! Try using carrot and turnip mashed together delicious??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I am a hunter and used ground deer "burger" instead of ground beef. I changed only a few little things; I added some herbs and more salt and pepper and a little bit of hot sauce (Our family loves spicy food) Overall, it is one of the best shepherds pie's i have ever made! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,769) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States