Shepherd's Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Made this the way the receipe said used a tin of Beef Broth soup,thoroughly enjoyed it as did my husband actually redeemed myself from the terrible dinner I made last night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Dear Hubby requested a Shepherd’s Pie but I’ve never made one! I used half ground beef and half Johnsonville Hot Italian Sausage. I added a dollop of sour cream to the mashed potatoes and a little beef bouillon to the broth. Also added a little garlic when the onions were cooking and added some peas too. We both loved our dinner and cannot wait to enjoy this again! #AllstarsJville, #JvilleKitchens, #Fall
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
definitely use the gravy instead of beef broth, but other than that it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I made this yesterday and it was delicious. I got alot of compliments ...I skipped cutting up the carrots and just used a can of peas and carrots to substitute it came out GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cwilcox6539

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
So yummy!! I added a small layer of mushrooms that I boiled after the carrots. I also added a small bit of garlic salt with parsley as I was mashing the potatoes. We couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Everyone the family loved this. As recommended by others I added Worcestershire sauce, brown gravy mix, skipped the flour, used the potato water to make the meat more saucy. Also added corn and peas to the carrots called for by the recipe. Was a big hit with the family. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
We went with using frozen peas and carrots, per some reviews, and cooked them in a steamer basket over the potatos; next time I would just add them to the beef mixture to cook. Used minced green onions in mashed potatos. Added 2 cloves of crushed garlic, a few dashes of rosemary, marojam, thyme and worcestershire sauce in the beef. Cooked the beef in a cast iron dutch oven, then did our layers in that and popped it in the oven. I think we'll be doing this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I feel a little strange rating this recipe, since I made changes. However, I would never have gotten to this point without the recipe. Rather than explain my changes, I'll tell you what I like about this recipe. I really love the carrots. I love the beef broth / ketchup mixture. These were great ideas for me. It was a hit with the hubby! He had 3 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Delicious and so simple! My Husband absolutely loved this and took the rest for lunch the following day...and he hates leftovers! I suggest making the changes I have to amp up the flavor a little bit! First off, I seasoned my ground beef while it browned with the onions. I used a little sprinkling of garlic powder and a local spice blend. For the potatoes I mixed in 1/4 cup parmesan and a 1/4 cup mozzarella to give it a complex cheese flavor. I also increased the beef stock to a scant 1 cup and reduced the flour to 1 Tbsp., instead allowing the beef and sauce to reduce and the flavors to mingle. I also increased the ketchup to 2 Tbsp. for a little more tang. My Husband isn't a big fan of mashed carrots, so I used some organic frozen mixed veggies (peas, carrots, corn, and green beans) as the middle layer. I then topped the potato layer with not 1/4 C of cheddar cheese, but 3/4 cup of cheddar cheese. Excellent recipe and a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheHomemade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,774) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States