Shepherd's Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Outstanding, I have tried numerous recipes for Shepard's Pie in the past but this one has to rank at the top of the list. The addition of the mashed carrots along with the addition of the Ketchup really pushes this recipe over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. B
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This was so tasty and easy to make. My family enjoyed it. I already had most of the ingredients on hand. I made a few adjustments. I used olive oil vs. vegetable. I doubled the meat and added an additional potato. I also used about 2 cups of frozen mixed vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. B

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Delicious! I used the gravy packet to season the beef like the other user mentioned. Didn't have wostershire, so I added in parsley flakes and cumin, meat had great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Camille
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Very good recipe...its a little bland but once you spice it up a little its very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I make this using ground turkey and with the recommended changes of adding the 1/4 cup of worstershire to the ground turkey and adding a packet of brown gravy mix to 1 cup of water, this recipe was amazing! My husband said that it was the best Shepherd Pie he ever had! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I followed other suggestions and added HP sauce, ketchup and worshire sauce. I also added sweet potato to my potato mix and it made it soooo good. Def making this one again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I added extra onion, garlic powder, and parsley to the meat as it cooked. I used 1 Cup water with 3 beef bouillon cubes to give the beef broth more flavor. I also added about 1 tbsp of Worcestershire sauce. I added sour cream, milk, and a packet of dry ranch mix dressing to the mashed potatoes. Turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This was my first time making and tasting any type of Shepherd's pie, but I didn't care for it. Way too many potatoes and onions, not enough meat, and way too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIEJUNKIE
Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
An okay starting point but even adding garlic and worcestershire sauce, it was quite bland. I diced the carrots and cooked them with the onion rather than boiling and mashing and threw in some frozen peas. Also, I didn't use all the mashed potatoes this called for. Next time I'd skip the cheese, not add onion to the mashed potatoes and spice up the ground beef mixture and I think it'll be worth adding to the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I added a star for the idea, but, when I followed the recipe exactly, it was OK but too bland. I've made modifications to adjust is to my taste and found that it was MUCH better (for me) that way: 1)mashed potato doesn't need cheese + added oregano and roasted garlic instead of onion 2) replaced carrots with veggies that I like more (pees and broccoli) 3) added barbecue sauce to beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,728) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States