Shepherd's Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Very little taste and a LOT of work to make- the carrots alone will drive you crazy trying to get them soft enough to actually mash! Perhaps it could have been better with some seasonings in the beef and if the recipe had been larger and fed more people but there are a lot of recipes for Shepherd's Pie that are easier and far more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Delicious! It does take awhile to prep, but worth the effort. And it makes quite a bit for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jistanich

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Excellent dish! I use butternut squash instead of the carrots. Family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
My family loved this recipe. I did add peas and sliced carrots. I also used Ore Ida frozen mashed potatoes to cut down cooking time. You throw them in the microwave and 10 minutes later you have potatoes to mash. Time saver. Also, I added a bit of mustard, worcestershire sauce, and a bit of garlic powder to enhance the taste of the meat. It turnd out really yummy. Very simple and fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Not a number one in My house but it's a easy meal to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Thanks for the easy-to-follow recipe. I have done what others suggested and used 1/4 cup worcestershire sauce, as well as 1 packet of gravy and 1 cup of water instead of beef broth. I also use different vegetables - canned peas, carrots, mushrooms, and frozen corn. Mine is loaded up with a high ratio of vegetables to beef because I like it that way. I put more cheese than called for on top because it tastes good, and I also use boxed potatoes because I'm lazy :). Great casserole dinner that my husband and I can eat for 3 days. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
My husband and company devoured this dish. Two helpings each. I did change it a little, though. I accidentally overcooked the potatoes while caring for my toddler so I added sour cream, half and half, and white velveeta to the mixture to stiffen it up, yet keep it creamy. I topped the potatoes with a little Italian seasoning and some garlic powder. I completely omitted the carrots. I added a can of canned mushrooms and 3/4 lb bag of frozen corn to the meat mixture. I also used another reviewer's advice and used 1/4c worcestire and crushed garlic while cooking the meat mixture. Also, I baked it a little longer than 20 minutes. I waited for the top to golden brown nicely. It was a fantastic hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Simple and very good. I altered recipe to feed 12 and used instant potatoes to save time and work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Made it this evening, great flavor but will agree there are shortcuts with same great flavor. I also used pie crust in the bottom of my pie, chopped my carrots very small and nuked them much faster, used Green Giant frozen sweet peas and I used Bob Evans regular mashed potatoes. Half the time and great taste! . Browning the beef with the onions is all the work. . Great recipe, I've been looking for a recipe similar to a Shepards Pie we got in Epcot and this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Haddock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This is a good recipe, but I added 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon of tarragon to the potato part and everyone loves it. I, also put tarragon in funeral potatoes and it's a hit...I guess potatoes and tarragon go well together, not sure as a baked potato, though, never tried that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,734) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States