Shepherd's Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
The steak seasoning brings it up to a great taste level. Not the usual bland English pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colts Neck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Seminole, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
One of our favorite things we've made! (and we cook nightly). I had leftover mashed potatoes and cooked carrots that needed to be used or tossed, so we made this recipe and fell in love! We tweaked a good bit because we like "heat" in all of our meals. So I browned the beef with some chopped green pepper and seasoned with chipotle chili powder, ground red pepper, steak seasoning per recipe, and black pepper (no salt). When adding the liquids, I followed other reviewers and added 1t worcesteshire and 1t Chilula (hot sauce). We didn't have "onion flakes" so I used 1T dry onion soup mix. We baked it in the skillet we cooked the beef in - ONE POT MEAL! And topped with cheddar cheese. Oh my gosh! It's 9am the next morning as I type this and I want to heat and dish myself another plate. DEEELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
We LOVE Shepherd's Pie and this recipe was amazing!! I cut the potatoes in half and added about 1 1/2 TBSP of Mrs Dash otherwise I kept it all the same. The Honey complained that there wasn't any "sauce" but personally I think sauce would've ruined this dish. It was extremely flavorful and YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
My hubby is really particular over things being too bland. This however was a hit! Super easy, really favorable dinner to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
A simple, easy, and good shepherd's pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
finally a recipe that doesn't contain cream of mushroom soup or cream of celery soup...yuck, will try and comment later...sounds yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This makes a fantastic shepherd's pie, though I agree that using all that bouillon would make it way too salty. But I always cook with broth from the carton, and using 1 cup of broth instead of the water, and no bouillon cubes is perfect. With the broth, you can use all the salt and steak seasoning the recipe calls for, and it is seasoned just right. I also always use instant mashed potatoes. This makes the recipe a lot quicker and easier. It's especially tasty with garlic potatoes, and sometimes I will add Romano cheese to the garlic potatoes, an idea I got from another shepherd's pie recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Would definitely add cheese to the potatoes, and maybe make the meat a bit saucier. Otherwise good flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I love the savory flavor of this recipe, and the little "kick" the steak seasoning gives it. But I was disappointed in its saltiness: salt in the bouillon, the salt in the steak seasoning, and actual salt is a LOT of that seasoning! I was also hoping the 90-minute prep-to-table time was an exaggeration, but it took nearly that long. (I doubled the recipe, so I'd have leftovers. I used fresh onion because I was out of dried flakes, basil because I was out of dried rosemary, and topped the pie with shredded Colby.) I will definitely make it again, but using low-sodium beef broth instead of bouillon. And I'll probably make it ahead of time, to avoid a 7:30PM dinnertime. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
We enjoyed the spices, but there was too much liquid. I will reduce it to about 1/4 cup next time. I always add garlic and/or garlic salt to the top of the cheese, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States