Shepherd's Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
This turned out to be one of the yummiest things I've ever made. Like other people, I didn't need 7 potatoes, I only used 5 medium potatoes. I left out the rosemary because I didn't have any. To the one cup of water I added just enough red cooking wine to turn the water pink, then added about 1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce. I didn't have any steak seasoning on hand, either, so I used about 1 tbsp Herb Chicken Seasoning and 2 tbsp parsley. Also, I used carrots and fresh sliced mushrooms instead of the mixed veggies - didn't have any of those on hand, either. I did use all the other ingredients as directed. Also, when I drained the fat from the beef, there was still a bit of grease left in the pan, so I put the mushrooms, onion flakes plus 1 tbsp minced garlic in the pan. I let them saute for a little bit, then put the beef back in the pan and added the rest of the ingredients. Boyfriend said the first time I made this that it was too salty for him (he avoids salt like the plague) so I've stopped putting in salt and have switched to sodium-free or low-salt bouillion cubes. I've stuck with the herb chicken seasoning, though. I also put shredded cheddar cheese on top of the potatoes, once everything was loaded into the casserole dish. I've made Shepherd's Pie before, but this one was by far the best one ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
This was terrific. I did make a couple changes/additions. Like the other reviewees, I made my potatoes like regular mashed and added butter, a dash of garlic powder and milk. I didn't like the rosemary, so I changed that to parsley. I also added 1 package of brown gravy mix at the end, which made it very savory. You still must reduce the water down to about a 1/4 cup otherwise its too watery. I also added added a clove of garlic, but that's the Italian in me! The frozen peas and carrot mix made it very simple. A sure keeper for my family!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Tierney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
We enjoyed this recipe but must tell you two things. My family and I found it to be VERY salty even though I used the low salt boullion cubes. Therefore, we would recommend leaving out the salt AND the steak spice. Also, the recipe states that it feeds 12. This must be an error because we only fed 4 but probably could get 5 out of it.Thank you, however, for your wonderful recipes. Generally, we love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
Thanks Christine for this delicious quick and easy recipe. My husband loved it and my mom also - I made it for her when she came to visit - she took the recipe! I made a few adjustments - I read the reviews and listen to them with the mashed potato to add milk & butter - I used Lipton's Beefy onion soup mix instead of the beef bouillon & onion flakes - I left out chicken bouillon and Rosemary - just because I don't like rosemary herb. I used 5 Tbsp ketchup and 1 Tbsp.Worcestershire sause and frozen peas & carrots - It was so tasty, this recipe is definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
This yummy little casserole (makes barely 4 servings)will be made again very soon in our family...everyone loved it. Suggestions: a little butter and milk in the potatoes...turn up oven in last ten minutes to brown potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTMAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russell, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
So easy and so yummy! I grated some cheader cheese over the top and the husband and kids cleaned their plates! I added some garlic and basil to the meat. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sierramae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
Great Recipe! I used real onion instead of onion flakes, and added just a pinch of nutmeg and ground sage for a little bit of extra flavour. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This recipe was awesome. I followed it exactly and was very pleased. My only complaint would be that there wasn't any gravy, but it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This recipe turned out very well, but was also VERY salty. Next time, I probably won't use the salt or the steak seasoning, but otherwise this recipe is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Let me just preface this by saying I ONLY made this for my kids-I HATE casseroles, especially shepherds pie-but this one is AWESOME!!! WOW-SOOOO easy to make and very yummy-uh oh- I might be a casserole lover yet! Thanks for the yummy recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States