Shepherd's Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I cheat with this recipe. I use refrigerated mashed potatoes when I am in a hurry and 1-1/2 to 2 jars of beef gravy. This is one of my husband's favorites. He claims he could eat it every week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This was wonderful. My family loved it and asks for it frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by way2buzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
MY FAMILY REALLY LIKED THIS RECIPE. ALTHOUGH, I DID ADD A COUPLE OF THINGS TO IT. I USED ABOUT 3 OR 4 MORE POTATOES (I LOVE MASHED TATOES!)I ALSO USED BUTTER AND SOURCREAM IN THEM BEFORE I PUT THEM ON TOP OF THE MEAT/VEGGIE MIXTURE. WHEN IT WAS ALMOST DONE IN THE OVEN, I PUT A LAYER OF SHREDDED CHEDDAR CHEESE ON TOP AND STUCK IT BACK IN THE OVEN FOR ABOUT 10 MINUTES. IT WAS SO YUMMY! I WILL DEFINITELY MAKE THIS AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darla Cunningham Wilkinson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brighton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kalona, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
We thought this was really tasty. The rosemary gave this a wonderful flavor. We all thought it needed some type of gravy or sauce though. I went ahead and made the potatoes like I would regular mashed potatoes with some cream, milk, and a dab of butter plus a few grinds of black pepper. I only made 5 potatoes and we thought it was too much potato topping for the amount of filling. Thanks for sharing this, we had never had shepherd's pie before, but we will be having it again (and again). This is great comfort food on a cool winter's evening. Smelled awesome too! I added osme american/cheddar cheese blend to the top. Great recipe, thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Great Recipe!!! I added a few extra ingredients, used Tastefully Simple Merlot sauce, onion onion, Garlic Garlic and Stubbs Beef Marinade. Then Iadded fresh veggis -squash, zuccini, and onion. My husband and I went back for seconds, so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Meadows, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I would do less worchestire sauce next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This is very good!!! My only suggestion is that you use anywhere from a 1/4 to 1/2 a teaspoon of rosemary. My husband and I both felt that with the full teaspoon all you could taste was the rosemary and you couldn't taste any other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
My son & I loved this recipe. This was my favorite dish in elementary school years ago. I made the following adjustments: substitute Worcestershire sauce for steak sauce, real onion instead of onion flakes, Lipton's Beef Onion Soup Mix instead of bouillion cubes. The only seasonings I used were salt, pepper, and garlic powder. I was pressed for time, so I used the instant potatoes as the topping and sprinkled shredded cheddar cheese on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I was really disappointed in how boring this recipe turned out. I think it needs more consistency with something on the base, maybe even mashed potatoes on the bottom then layered with the meat & veg, and topped with the mashed potatoes again grated with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
This dish didn't blow me away, but had good reviews from my family. I'll prepare this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States