Shepherd's Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2000
This recipe was very, very, good. It made wonderful leftovers. The only thing we changed was that we only used two onions, that was plenty. Also, we used real mashed potatoes instead of instant. But it was a very good recipe that we'll use again when we have company for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
I found this recipe as I sought to rid the fridge of a head of aging cauliflower. It was delicious- preferable to the recipe not containing the cauliflower. I did omit the cream cheese in the recipe, and everything turned our wonderfully! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
My wife loved this as much as I did. It is wonderfull.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
I was worried about making Shepherd's pie because I like spicy fun things (I am Italian!); but this recipe is very, very GOOD. I defintely loaded up on the garlic powder - but even so, this recipe was awesome! My English roommate and my Irish boyfriend gave me STANDING OVATION after the first bite!!! I will definitely make this again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
Loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
I made this tonight and the only change I made was to halve the recipe. I was very unimpressed. While I liked the addition of green beans and cauliflower, the dish was very bland. I had to double the milk because the potatoes were too dry. I don't think the cream cheese added anything special to the mashed potatoes. Would have liked something with more oomph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
This recipe worked well. However, I did make some changes. I used the serving converter and made enough for 5 people. I substituted frozen corn for the cauliflower and I omitted the cream cheese from the mashed potatoes. Someone else complained about the milk not being enough for the mashed potatoes. Honestly I didn't even look at those measurements. I just made real mashed potatoes the way I always do (and I never measure there either) and it worked just fine, so probably "mashed potatoes to taste" would be a good addition to the recipe. I also forgot to add salt. Even without salt, this dish came out well and it was a hit with the kids (1 and 3). It worked great for finger food for my 1 yr old, and even my husband enjoyed it. It is super easy and a great quick fix meal. I would definitely recommend it, and it will be on our repeat menu as well. I give it four stars, for being a good, balanced, tasty meal. The only reason I wouldn't give it five is because five seems like it ought to be reserved for something really fabulous, ingenious, or out of the ordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
Great basic recipe!!! I used ground beef, minced garlic, and made my own real mashed potatoes. Hubby and I loved it but will tweak it according to our tastes. Am going to sprinkle red pepper chips in meat and onion mixture to make it spicer. I see endless variations in this future pie. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guymon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
A bit bland. Better Shepherd pis recipes on this site
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
Great recipe. Never made this before. Cut down a little on the onions and cooked the vegetables a little first. Had lots of leftovers that heated up well and tasted just as good as the first day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States