Shepherd's Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
First, Way too much onion & potatoes. I would recommend you use 2 large onions & only 8 potatoes. Second, this has a pretty good flavor but if you're looking for a traditional Irish Shepherd's Pie than don't cook this one. Not bad & a bit different. Makes great leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Heatley Raymondi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This recipe was in true English fasion, bland. I added in a few spices and cut down the amount of onion on the second try and we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEWENCH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasant Hill, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Delicious. I added green beans, peas, carrots and celery. I also made my regular mashed potatoes to put on top instead of following the directions in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
Great recipe. Never made this before. Cut down a little on the onions and cooked the vegetables a little first. Had lots of leftovers that heated up well and tasted just as good as the first day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
A bit bland. Better Shepherd pis recipes on this site
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
Great basic recipe!!! I used ground beef, minced garlic, and made my own real mashed potatoes. Hubby and I loved it but will tweak it according to our tastes. Am going to sprinkle red pepper chips in meat and onion mixture to make it spicer. I see endless variations in this future pie. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guymon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
This recipe worked well. However, I did make some changes. I used the serving converter and made enough for 5 people. I substituted frozen corn for the cauliflower and I omitted the cream cheese from the mashed potatoes. Someone else complained about the milk not being enough for the mashed potatoes. Honestly I didn't even look at those measurements. I just made real mashed potatoes the way I always do (and I never measure there either) and it worked just fine, so probably "mashed potatoes to taste" would be a good addition to the recipe. I also forgot to add salt. Even without salt, this dish came out well and it was a hit with the kids (1 and 3). It worked great for finger food for my 1 yr old, and even my husband enjoyed it. It is super easy and a great quick fix meal. I would definitely recommend it, and it will be on our repeat menu as well. I give it four stars, for being a good, balanced, tasty meal. The only reason I wouldn't give it five is because five seems like it ought to be reserved for something really fabulous, ingenious, or out of the ordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
I made this tonight and the only change I made was to halve the recipe. I was very unimpressed. While I liked the addition of green beans and cauliflower, the dish was very bland. I had to double the milk because the potatoes were too dry. I don't think the cream cheese added anything special to the mashed potatoes. Would have liked something with more oomph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
Loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
I was worried about making Shepherd's pie because I like spicy fun things (I am Italian!); but this recipe is very, very GOOD. I defintely loaded up on the garlic powder - but even so, this recipe was awesome! My English roommate and my Irish boyfriend gave me STANDING OVATION after the first bite!!! I will definitely make this again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States