Shepherd's Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2000
What isn't there to like about this recipe. It's simple and easy and tastes great. It's a great one dish meal. The beef broth adds a rich flavor to the dish. I also found that you can add different vegetables to it like green beans and pearl onions. All our friends who've tried this dish have asked for the recipe. I recommend this recipe highly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2001
This was ok for a lower fat dish. I used venison for the meat and corn instead of peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2001
It seemed like I was just eating mashed potatoes.. the ratio seemed to be off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
Great recipe! I used frozen mixed vegies and added some mushrooms, worchesterhire sauce, and extra cayenne. I also used only ground turkey. Can easily be modifed to use whatever you have in the house. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
Yummy! I didn't have ground turkey, so I used 3/4 pound of leanest ground beef (less than 10% fat). I also didn't have carrots, so I added thawed frozen green beans to the peas. My tomato paste was flavored with pesto, and I used about 3 Tbsp. - it had a great flavor. I also added garlic powder. I used about 1-1/4 cups of beef broth. It was, in every regard, a very tasty and very simple dish. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
Very good! I used all turkey. I think it definitely needs to have some ground beef in it, maybe all ground beef. I used frozen mixed vegetables and instant mashed potatoes to save time and trouble. I also think a little more tomato paste would improve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
A good, simple recipe. I added mushrooms, green and red peppers and extra carrots to make it a bit more substantial. I also used more beef broth and added oregano and parsley for a bit more flavour. Instead of using the mashed potatoes here I used my favourite recipe from deliaonline.com which is healthier and uses quark cheese (my favourite soft cheese). Overall a good comfort food recipe which can adapt to whatever additions you decide to put in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
This recipe was okay but not extrodinary. It was a little bland. I used a bag of mixed frozen vegtables instead of just carrots and peas and eliminated the butter in the mashed potatoes to cut down on the fat. I will probaly make this agian but perhaps I'll add a little more meat and alot of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
This was good, but only if you add more spices, as others suggested. I added 1 Tbl. worchestershire sauce to the meat while cooking. Later, I added 1/4 tsp. paprika, 1 tsp. parsley flakes, 1/4 tsp. garlic powder, 1/2 tsp. salt, and (scant) 1/4 tsp. pepper - perfect! I used ground turkey, and lean ground pork that I had on hand, but next time, I think I will use all ground (lean) beef so that it's not so dry. I left off the cheese, as the Shepherd's Pie I had in Ireland didn't have any - I think it's more authentic that way. This recipe just needs a little tweaking here and there, but I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
This recipe turned out very good for me. After reading the ratings I knew to season it well. I used ground turkey and some mild sausage which tasted great and I cooked the onions with the meat to add more flavor. I also used some seasoned salt and pepper to add some flavor ( not too much). I added a 3 tablespoons of tomato paste and it was just enough. Last I put a generous amount of cheddar cheese on the potatoes. My husband loved it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States