Shepherd's Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
I like other raters didn't have the ground beef on hand so I made it with all gournd turkey. It was very good and next time I'll do the same. I added more cheese to the top too. Good texture and flavor. Will definately make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I used 1 lb. ground turkey and no beef. Also was out of tomato paste so I used about 5 Tb. of tomato sauce instead. It still turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I made this last night, and I agree with those that say add extra seasoning. It was good, but it needed a bit of oomph. I also used carrots and squash instead of peas, and buffalo instead of ground turkey. And yes, add more tomato paste. I'll definitely make it again - it was quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This is a great base recipe for shepherd's pie. The texture is FANTASTIC ...it reminds me of shepherd's pie I had in England, especially when I added a small can of mushrooms. It is a little bland, though - I added 3 cloves of minced garlic while browning the meat, and then about 1/2 tsp. of garlic powder while simmering, and would still recommend adding more. I also did not add nearly enough salt and pepper, and ended up having to season it after serving. Also, I only used 2 potatoes, as suggested by other reviewers, and felt like that was more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Maybe I did something wrong but my husband wouldn't even eat this! (I don't like shephards pie so I didn't have any)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCMILLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
I loved the idea of this recipe, but made my own by altering a few things. I had leftover potatoes and carrots soaking in beef broth from the hideous diasater of a roast I made last week. The beef was too tough, so I gave it to the dogs and saved the rest. I took the potatoes and mashed them for the topping. The carrots were diced and used in the meat mixture. I use 1/3 lb of 95% lean beef, 1/3 lb italian pork sausage, and 1/2 lb of ground turkey. I added garlic salt/pepper, black pepper, more garlic powder, worchester sauce, a small white onion, and some frozen peas. Heat that on the skillet (no oil b/c the beef and pork gives plenty of it). I put it in a 375 preheated oven for 25 mins. It was FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
Delicious! I used instant mashed potatoes to save some time and it still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This was a really good meal and a fun one to do on a week night, though not the quickest of meals. When I followed the recipe, I ended up with about a 2:1 ratio of potatoes to meat/veggie mixture. Being that I am a huge fan of mashed potatoes, you might be surprised to know that I plan to reverse this ratio the next time I make this because the flavor of the meat/veggie mix was so good. Having so many potatoes sort of dulled the impact of the spicy mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Great recipe! I changed a few things to simplify-just used turkey instead of any beef, and I used a 10 oz package of mixed vegetables to cheat on the carrots and peas! Also ran out of cornstarch but I used whole wheat flour and that more than did the trick! It makes tons for one person, I'll be eating this for days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeadMansParty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I came across this recipie when i had extra mashed potatoes in the fridge..it worked out great! I did not do the cornstartch thing...i can never quite get that right. I would have added a few more onions thats it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States