Shepherd's Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This is the first recipe I've ever given 5 stars to on this site! This is a great dish. I made only one change, and that was out of desperation- I realized halfway through that I had no cornstarch, so I used flour to thicken instead. Worked great. Hubby loved it- will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I used only ground beef, subbed canned corn & peas/carrots, only thing I will do next time is add waaaaaay more cheese on top. This was my first shepherds pie and I really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewMomCooker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
First let me tell you that I wouldn't make preheating the oven the first step in this recipe. If you are having to make fresh mashed potatoes and then cooking the meat mixture you might as well wait a while before you turn it on. I think this is a really good base recipe. When I made the mashed potatoes I just whipped them with butter and milk (like I would normal mashed potatoes) I also added some Lawry's seasoning. I did not use the olive oil at all because I thought that would make the dish too greasy with the hamburger fat and also because I sauteed the onion and carrots in butter by themselves then drained them really good then added them into the meat mixture. Like many of the other reviewers I used 3 T. of the tomato paste. Instead of adding the frozen peas I used 1/2 can of peas and also 1/2 can of corn. I seasoned the mixture with salt, pepper & Mrs. Dash tableblend. We really liked it and I plan on making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This was good, but it definitely needed more flavor. I added two cloves of minced garlic with the onions and added cheddar cheese into the meat mixture before topping with the potatoes. I had leftover mashed potatoes, so I warmed them up and whipped them with a little whole milk for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Very good...but I did make a few changes. I use just ground beef (1 lb or so)...no ground turkey and season the beef with salt, pepper, and garlic powder, 2 cups beef broth, 3 tablespoons of tomato paste, and I also add 1/2 cup frozen corn, . I followed the directions to cook as they say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I combined this recipe and Shepherd's Pie I to make it just how I like, but this one gave me some great ideas. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I've made this several times and it's very tasty. I made the following changes: I use low-fat sour cream (about 2-3 tbl) and garlic salt when mashing my potatoes instead of oil. I added season salt instead of regular salt to the hamburger mixture, and omit the carrots and peas and just serve a veggie on the side. Also, I use all ground sirloin, which is 96% fat free (leaner than most ground turkey). I've been searching for a flavorful shepherd's pie recipe that doesn't rely on canned cream soups, which are high in fat, and this is it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
The oil in the potatoes ruined the taste of them. The whole recipe really didn't have any flavor. Sorry, but we really didn't like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
As soon as I popped this in the oven I realized I had forgotten a very key ingredient... the beef broth. I was scared this would be horrible, but even without the broth it was quite tasty. I used a can of diced carrots, frozen peas, and canned mushrooms. I'll be sure to add the broth next time I make this :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Way good, I used 1/2 cup beef stock and 1/2 cup Bells Expedition Stout with a tad more than a splah of whorchester sauce instead of beef broth, much tastier. Try adding some garlic powder or replacing the turkey with ground lamd, less healthy but more wholesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States