Shepherd's Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2000
What isn't there to like about this recipe. It's simple and easy and tastes great. It's a great one dish meal. The beef broth adds a rich flavor to the dish. I also found that you can add different vegetables to it like green beans and pearl onions. All our friends who've tried this dish have asked for the recipe. I recommend this recipe highly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
Yummy! I didn't have ground turkey, so I used 3/4 pound of leanest ground beef (less than 10% fat). I also didn't have carrots, so I added thawed frozen green beans to the peas. My tomato paste was flavored with pesto, and I used about 3 Tbsp. - it had a great flavor. I also added garlic powder. I used about 1-1/4 cups of beef broth. It was, in every regard, a very tasty and very simple dish. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
This recipe turned out very good for me. After reading the ratings I knew to season it well. I used ground turkey and some mild sausage which tasted great and I cooked the onions with the meat to add more flavor. I also used some seasoned salt and pepper to add some flavor ( not too much). I added a 3 tablespoons of tomato paste and it was just enough. Last I put a generous amount of cheddar cheese on the potatoes. My husband loved it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I made the but altered to my liking. I browned me with pepper, onion powder, and woreshire sauce. After draining meat from fat I then added campbells french onion soup. I strained the soup, added some cornstarch to broth, added to meat then added the onions from soup. Brought that to a bowl then simmered. My potaotes I made fresh but added whipping cream to potates. I used a 1/2 a package of mixed frozen peas and carrots. I layered, meat, vegetables, potatoes, and shredded sharp cheddar cheese to cover potatoes. Then sprinkled paprika and dried parsely on top. Back @ 350* for about 15mins. My two boys LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
I made quite a few changes, and this turned out amazing! It was so simple. I added garlic, worchester, cayenne, paprika, seasoning salt, etc. I also used a can of mushrooms and 2 cups of frozen mixed veggies. I added a few tablespoons of parsley to the mashed potatoes for some extra colour. Can't wait to make this again, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Excellent weeknight dinner. Whole family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
i thoguht this recipe was great. it time to prepare, but was worth it. I was able to eat it a couple of nights for dinner, plus a few lunches. I am single so it is hard to cook for 1 all the time, but i love these comfort recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
easy, delicious recipe that totally hit the spot! I made some changes: -added a can of corn -omitted beef broth and instead prepared the meat using HOT taco mixture to give it a little kick. Enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I came across this recipie when i had extra mashed potatoes in the fridge..it worked out great! I did not do the cornstartch thing...i can never quite get that right. I would have added a few more onions thats it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Great recipe! I changed a few things to simplify-just used turkey instead of any beef, and I used a 10 oz package of mixed vegetables to cheat on the carrots and peas! Also ran out of cornstarch but I used whole wheat flour and that more than did the trick! It makes tons for one person, I'll be eating this for days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeadMansParty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States