Shepherd's Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
This was an excellent meal. It was very easy for me- and, seeing as i'm only 14, this means very easy. I used all turkey and instant mashed potatoes, and it still came out perfect. The instant potatoes really saved a lot of time and trouble without sacrificing taste. It was a little underseasoned, so i would suggest that you do what i did- add garlic powder. Along with the other veggies, i added a small can of sliced mushrooms, which i love and added some nice texture. I took the advice of other people who reviewed the recipe and put in 3 tablespoons of tomato paste. It really was delicious, and i will definitely make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
Great recipe! I used frozen mixed vegies and added some mushrooms, worchesterhire sauce, and extra cayenne. I also used only ground turkey. Can easily be modifed to use whatever you have in the house. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
I made quite a few changes, and this turned out amazing! It was so simple. I added garlic, worchester, cayenne, paprika, seasoning salt, etc. I also used a can of mushrooms and 2 cups of frozen mixed veggies. I added a few tablespoons of parsley to the mashed potatoes for some extra colour. Can't wait to make this again, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Very good...but I did make a few changes. I use just ground beef (1 lb or so)...no ground turkey and season the beef with salt, pepper, and garlic powder, 2 cups beef broth, 3 tablespoons of tomato paste, and I also add 1/2 cup frozen corn, . I followed the directions to cook as they say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2000
What isn't there to like about this recipe. It's simple and easy and tastes great. It's a great one dish meal. The beef broth adds a rich flavor to the dish. I also found that you can add different vegetables to it like green beans and pearl onions. All our friends who've tried this dish have asked for the recipe. I recommend this recipe highly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
This was good, but only if you add more spices, as others suggested. I added 1 Tbl. worchestershire sauce to the meat while cooking. Later, I added 1/4 tsp. paprika, 1 tsp. parsley flakes, 1/4 tsp. garlic powder, 1/2 tsp. salt, and (scant) 1/4 tsp. pepper - perfect! I used ground turkey, and lean ground pork that I had on hand, but next time, I think I will use all ground (lean) beef so that it's not so dry. I left off the cheese, as the Shepherd's Pie I had in Ireland didn't have any - I think it's more authentic that way. This recipe just needs a little tweaking here and there, but I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
I loved the idea of this recipe, but made my own by altering a few things. I had leftover potatoes and carrots soaking in beef broth from the hideous diasater of a roast I made last week. The beef was too tough, so I gave it to the dogs and saved the rest. I took the potatoes and mashed them for the topping. The carrots were diced and used in the meat mixture. I use 1/3 lb of 95% lean beef, 1/3 lb italian pork sausage, and 1/2 lb of ground turkey. I added garlic salt/pepper, black pepper, more garlic powder, worchester sauce, a small white onion, and some frozen peas. Heat that on the skillet (no oil b/c the beef and pork gives plenty of it). I put it in a 375 preheated oven for 25 mins. It was FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This was a really good meal and a fun one to do on a week night, though not the quickest of meals. When I followed the recipe, I ended up with about a 2:1 ratio of potatoes to meat/veggie mixture. Being that I am a huge fan of mashed potatoes, you might be surprised to know that I plan to reverse this ratio the next time I make this because the flavor of the meat/veggie mix was so good. Having so many potatoes sort of dulled the impact of the spicy mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I made the but altered to my liking. I browned me with pepper, onion powder, and woreshire sauce. After draining meat from fat I then added campbells french onion soup. I strained the soup, added some cornstarch to broth, added to meat then added the onions from soup. Brought that to a bowl then simmered. My potaotes I made fresh but added whipping cream to potates. I used a 1/2 a package of mixed frozen peas and carrots. I layered, meat, vegetables, potatoes, and shredded sharp cheddar cheese to cover potatoes. Then sprinkled paprika and dried parsely on top. Back @ 350* for about 15mins. My two boys LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This is a great base recipe for shepherd's pie. The texture is FANTASTIC ...it reminds me of shepherd's pie I had in England, especially when I added a small can of mushrooms. It is a little bland, though - I added 3 cloves of minced garlic while browning the meat, and then about 1/2 tsp. of garlic powder while simmering, and would still recommend adding more. I also did not add nearly enough salt and pepper, and ended up having to season it after serving. Also, I only used 2 potatoes, as suggested by other reviewers, and felt like that was more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States