Shepherd's Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
easy, delicious recipe that totally hit the spot! I made some changes: -added a can of corn -omitted beef broth and instead prepared the meat using HOT taco mixture to give it a little kick. Enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
i thoguht this recipe was great. it time to prepare, but was worth it. I was able to eat it a couple of nights for dinner, plus a few lunches. I am single so it is hard to cook for 1 all the time, but i love these comfort recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Excellent weeknight dinner. Whole family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
I made quite a few changes, and this turned out amazing! It was so simple. I added garlic, worchester, cayenne, paprika, seasoning salt, etc. I also used a can of mushrooms and 2 cups of frozen mixed veggies. I added a few tablespoons of parsley to the mashed potatoes for some extra colour. Can't wait to make this again, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I made the but altered to my liking. I browned me with pepper, onion powder, and woreshire sauce. After draining meat from fat I then added campbells french onion soup. I strained the soup, added some cornstarch to broth, added to meat then added the onions from soup. Brought that to a bowl then simmered. My potaotes I made fresh but added whipping cream to potates. I used a 1/2 a package of mixed frozen peas and carrots. I layered, meat, vegetables, potatoes, and shredded sharp cheddar cheese to cover potatoes. Then sprinkled paprika and dried parsely on top. Back @ 350* for about 15mins. My two boys LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
This is really good. I make it on a semi-regualr basis, because i know i can ALWAYS depend on it. I use instant mashed potatoes to save time, and all ground turkey because that's what i have. I also add a can of mushrooms to it, and 2 more tbs of tomato paste. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Yung2Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
This was an excellent meal. It was very easy for me- and, seeing as i'm only 14, this means very easy. I used all turkey and instant mashed potatoes, and it still came out perfect. The instant potatoes really saved a lot of time and trouble without sacrificing taste. It was a little underseasoned, so i would suggest that you do what i did- add garlic powder. Along with the other veggies, i added a small can of sliced mushrooms, which i love and added some nice texture. I took the advice of other people who reviewed the recipe and put in 3 tablespoons of tomato paste. It really was delicious, and i will definitely make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
This recipe turned out very good for me. After reading the ratings I knew to season it well. I used ground turkey and some mild sausage which tasted great and I cooked the onions with the meat to add more flavor. I also used some seasoned salt and pepper to add some flavor ( not too much). I added a 3 tablespoons of tomato paste and it was just enough. Last I put a generous amount of cheddar cheese on the potatoes. My husband loved it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
This was good, but only if you add more spices, as others suggested. I added 1 Tbl. worchestershire sauce to the meat while cooking. Later, I added 1/4 tsp. paprika, 1 tsp. parsley flakes, 1/4 tsp. garlic powder, 1/2 tsp. salt, and (scant) 1/4 tsp. pepper - perfect! I used ground turkey, and lean ground pork that I had on hand, but next time, I think I will use all ground (lean) beef so that it's not so dry. I left off the cheese, as the Shepherd's Pie I had in Ireland didn't have any - I think it's more authentic that way. This recipe just needs a little tweaking here and there, but I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
This recipe was okay but not extrodinary. It was a little bland. I used a bag of mixed frozen vegtables instead of just carrots and peas and eliminated the butter in the mashed potatoes to cut down on the fat. I will probaly make this agian but perhaps I'll add a little more meat and alot of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States