Shepherd's Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
Super! A minor change: I simmered the peas & corn along with carrots and mushrooms, herbs & spices in a can of beef broth for about 10 minutes, then used the liquid to make a gravy for the meat. Combined meat, gravy & veggies, poured into baking dish. Layered potatoes on top. Baked & then sprinkled with shredded cheddar. No leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Absolutely yummy! I, too, was very skeptical about the nutmeg and the sage but they made all of the difference. This was the only dish that my college roomate could make and I haven't had it in 30 years! What a pleasant surprise...this will become a "regular" for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2000
What a nice, homey kind of meal. Like the reviewer before me, I floured the browned meat, used onion soup mix, but replaced the water with a can of beef broth. The nutmeg and sage lend a nice addition. I happen to have fresh sage growing in my backyard, and it was put to good use in this comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
Excellent recipe!! My husband loved it! Altho, I did take one of the recommendations to add the onion soup mix w/ water and flour. I found that it was too liquidy. Maybe I should have added more flour? I will definitly make this again but not make any changes to the original recipe. Thanks for a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
This recipe is great. I use it every time I make this good old comfort food. My husband loves it too. The hint of nutmeg is amazing! Don't leave it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. T. S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
This is absoulutely the best Shepherd's Pie I have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Yummy! Just how Shepherd's pie is supposed to taste. I made 2 small changes 1>added beef broth, corn starch and water to beef after browned to make a gravy 2. sprinkled grated cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NicnNolsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
I thought this recipe was very good. I lived in Ireland for a year and this what shepherd's pie tastes like. I love the idea of the potatoes on the bottom very good. Just a reminder don't omit the spices esp the nutmeg it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
The nutmeg added a touch of flavor that really made the pie taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklinville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
To make it simpler, you can use instant potatoes. Also, instead of peas, I put in green beans (just for something different). And, the best tip...add a little shredded Chedder on during the last five minutes of so...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chetyre

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States